Free Member
Aug 5, 2011
Calne
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
im a newbie
was going to go down the selfbuild route but lack of spare time this winter,we're thinking about buying a early 90s motorhome 4 to 6 berth.eg fiat,talbot.which should we choose being our first one and should we get petrol or 2.5diesel,got upto 5k to spend.:Smile:

rob kinnear

Free Member
Nov 29, 2010
Swansea
Funster No
MH
Hi Top
Exp
1 year 10 years tugger
Hi and welcome :flyingwelcome:
I would go for a diesel as they last and carry the weight better, As for witch van I have no idea but someone will be along soon.Just remember before you buy post on here for more advice on what you are looking at.

All The best
Rob

Upvote 0
OP
OP
D

dabber

Free Member
Aug 5, 2011
Calne
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
im a newbie
been looking on ebay,loads of talbots on there most of them petrol some diesel so will go and have a look at some of them.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

American Dream

Free Member
Aug 20, 2007
Lincoln
Funster No
MH
?
Exp
?
I'd definately look at diesels...preferably turbocharged for the torque and power.
Check mileage and servicing ties up with odometer...

Test drive is a must as is looking for rust/damp....

Good luck.....

Steve.

Upvote 0

Touchwood

Free Member
Aug 23, 2011
NE England
Funster No
MH
Compass Avantgarde 140
Exp
5 years and learning
Hi and welcome. As a newcomer here myself I can only say you've come to the right place, I'm sure you will get much useful advice with your prospective purchase, as indeed I have. Good luck,

Mike

Upvote 0

Carol

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 2, 2007
North Wales.
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
18 years s Motorhome (33years caravans)
Hello and welcome to Fun, would think about a diesel, the engines are built to do large mileages so that should not be a problem, check the body work though and inside for damp. Good Luck with your search, let us know how you get on.:welcomefunster:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements