kevandmarg

Free Member
Apr 28, 2008
Colne, Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
Having been a 'tugger' for 10 years & then tent camper for the last 5 years we've decided the time has come to buy our first motorhome. We've been looking at various types & layouts for about 18 months, at shows & dealers, and found a 2005 Hymer 'T' class on a 2.8 Ducato last weekend. Had a look round the habitation area using our experience as tuggers along with advise already borrowed from this site and going to check out the base vehicle & test drive next weekend. I have plenty of experience checking out cars & small vehicles but not much on vans. What faults should I be looking for on an almost 5 year old van ? Thanks in advance for any advise/comments,

Kev.

Blisters

Free Member
Apr 2, 2008
Stoke on Trent
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
March 2006
Hi Kev n Marg,

welcome to the world of motorhoming, we were tugger for 17 years before making the switch, and would asay that motorhoming as the edge, get it over the water and its another world

have you had a look at the classifeds on this site theres some good bargains to be had in there

Link Removed

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
if its a 2.8td engine enquire about the timing belt....could be due for renewal on a time basis rather than mileage.

check and replace at 36000 if neccessary and replace at 72000 miles or 5 years which ever is first.

if its a JTD engine, sorry i dont know the mileage/time interval.

could be £300 plus for replacement.

front chassis cross members are prone to rust but easy checked by hand or sight and not a difficult repair.

check usual habitation things like damp and that everything works.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
kevandmarg

kevandmarg

Free Member
Apr 28, 2008
Colne, Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp