First Motorhome - Thoughts and Advice Appreciated (1 Viewer)

KKB

Free Member
Jan 20, 2016
North of Scotland
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi All,

Having written a post earlier to introduce myself, wishing you all a happy Burns Day, I thought that I would ask for your thoughts and advice before partaking of a wee dram (whilst I can still hopefully make sense)!!

A complete newbie to motorhoming but have camped in the UK for many years. Time to move from a tent to something a bit more luxurious. Having done a fair bit of research on-line I think it fair to say that I have grasped the fact that the 3 most important things are layout, layout and layout! With that in mind I think the Hymer B544, with the 2 bench sofas, fits the bill for us. Going to be just the 2 of us for the majority of the time but would like a decent lounge area and the ability to carry/sleep 4 in total.

For the first couple of years I expect to use the motorhome in the UK, mainly Scotland but will venture further South at times as well, and use it all year round. Going to be away for a maximum of 3-4 weeks at a time but mainly weekends. In a couple of years I do plan to head off to Europe and escape the worst of the winter weather here. Will be looking at 2-3 months away at a time then. My good lady wife is keen to share in the driving but not if it is too big. The 544 seems ideal at just over 6 metres. I hope to spend no more than £25K but would stretch beyond that for the right van. Also happy, (surprise, surprise), to spend a lot less than that on a quality older van. I think I would have to go for a 2001 onwards to get the double floor and JTD engine.

I have seen the 544 for sale by Wizza and it looks a solid van and a good buy. The 524 for sale by Titley looks a nice van as well but perhaps the lounge is a bit small for us. Not sure.

Thoughts and advice appreciated.