First motorhome - buying a friends a good idea? (1 Viewer)

Emily

Free Member
Aug 7, 2016
Swindon
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie.
I'm a complete newbie to motorhomes but we are looking to buy one to follow my husband around the country doing his hobbies. We have two dogs, no children, but would want the flexibility to take two more passengers. It is likely to be used around 2 or 3 weekends a month, 8 months of the year. with the potential for longer trips around Europe.

A friend of my husbands has offered to sell us his old motorhome. It's a burster a647. Around 20,000 miles. 55 reg. He has offered it to us for £21k. We don't know if this is a good deal or not, I can't find many for sale on the Internet. He was the second owner.

I think because it is so big I would likely need to take a test to get a c1 added to my licence but my husband would be fine. Any idea how easy these are to pass/recommendations for schools I could do over weekends?

Jan 10, 2013
Near Uttoxeter and Crete
Funster No
MH
Warwick XL PVC
Exp
Still trucking and learning
Can't answer your questions but ............
welcome animated smiley.gif

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Dec 11, 2011
Nr Hastings, East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail Tracker RL
Exp
since 2010
Emily,
See http://www.gocaravanning.com/motorhome-specifications/model/burstner-a647_162.html for a few details. Looks like it is a 4000Kg model so you will need a C1 licence. I've seen something recently that it costs about £1k to get this, assuming you pass 1st time - but I've not had to do this myself so I cannot be sure this is correct.
Note that most people make a mistake when they buy their first motorhome in that they get the incorrect layout - so think through very carefully whether the Burstner layout suits you. Think about each part of the day and how the layout would work for you. Everyone has different ideas so there is no BEST layout, just one that is the best for you personally.