Firewire question / problem

Discussion in 'Computers' started by scotjimland, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I have an Sony 8 mm cam-corder and a stack of 8mm tapes I want to copy to DVD .. The camera has a firewire port.

    I used to transfer onto the Mac.. (it had a firewire port).. but sadly it has gone belly up and not economical to repair ...

    The Dell has USB and an eSata port .. but no firewire :Doh:

    I've been Googling but as yet not found an easy way of doing it.. to be honest I don't think there is one ...

    Any suggestions apart from throwing in the towel ..
     
  2. pablomc

    pablomc Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Co. Durham
    If your laptop has a PCMCIA slot or express slot you can buy a firewire card for it.
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    err.. just checked.. I don't have either slots ...
     
  4. Glynn

    Glynn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Buy another Mac !.
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    never again..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    You must surely have at least one spare slot.
    If so, I've got a Firewire card I can lend you.
     
  7. pablomc

    pablomc Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Co. Durham
    USB to Express card adaptor.

    [ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/Startech-Usb-Express-Card-Adapter/dp/B0024OMS6E/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1329515218&sr=8-8"]USB to Express card adaptor[/ame]
     
  8. Pikey Pete

    Pikey Pete Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    1,141
    Location:
    o
  9. Onderweg

    Onderweg Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Vlissingen, Holland
    I think your only option would be a firewire to usb adaptor.

    FireWire is, depending on the type between 400 (6 pins) and 800 mpbs (9 pins)

    But be careful, if your laptop has
    USB 1.1 --> dont even try only 12 mbps,
    USB 2.0 --> 480 mbps, could work but carefully check whether video transmission is supported (effective speed is often only 240)
    USB 3.0 --> 5.000 mbps was promised. You can recognize Usb3 very easy, there is something blue in the connector (but in 2010 the effective speed was 400-420 mbps, sorry i am retired so dont have the new facts :RollEyes:) but USB3.0 will certainly do the trick

    Only few laptops have an USB3.0 connection :cry:

    Hope this is of some help

    Regards
    Paul and Ineke
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    If you mean Express or PCMCIA slot.. no.. thanks for your offer

    I have 3 x usb2 , 1x eSata socket , I x HDMI socket and a card reader slot

    thanks, I had a look at these but can't determine if it would work ..
    thanks Pete .. I honestly don't know

    thanks for the info..

    will do some more reading on it ..
     
  11. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Rochester
    You can get USB to Firewire adapters off fleabay for £2
     
  12. philw111

    philw111 Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Moray Firth
    I have transferred 8mm video to digital using an "EasyCap USB video grabber". It has standard connections to the video camera at one end and a USB at the other - quality seems fine (as long as you aren't expecting HD).

    The cables are on eBay for about a fiver - just search for EasyCap.

    Phil
     
  13. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    That looks interesting .. thanks Phil.. will look into this idea.. for £8 I'll give it a punt and see how it goes..

    Re USB/Firewire adapters, there seems to be a lot of conflicting advice on the AV forums .. this is from a 'senior' member..

     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
  14. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    hi Jim I have a firewire card and software new in box for £8 if of any use.
     
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    thanks Roger .. but no slot to fit a firewire card on the lappy
     
  16. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    You didn't say at the start that it was a laptop..... :Doh:
     
  17. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    EasyCap arrived yesterday..

    [​IMG]

    I played with it yesterday and the only problem I have is sound quality .. it sounds like a badly tuned AM radio .. :Doh:

    Did a bit of Googling and found several others had the same issue, the workaround is to use the lappy's Microphone jack socket connected directly to the CamCorder's (white) RCA socket..

    After doing this it worked a treat .. can also use it just to view on the TV using the laptop HDMI output ..

    I have video going back to the mid 90s.. so we spend several hours just re living the kids growing up, holidays in France and Spain.. great memories captured for ever on tape.. :Smile:

    Now the big task... copying, editing and putting onto DVD ...

    The ULead video editing software supplied looks ok.. if a bid dated.. but it runs ok on Windows7, haven't had a real play with it yet .. too busy viewing ..
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page