firefox text size/definition

Discussion in 'Computers' started by pappajohn, Dec 27, 2009.

  1. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i just downloaded firefox and am using it now but the page text looks wrong.

    it has no definition, is much smaller and fainter than IE8 yet the setting are the same.

    do i need to alter any perameters on firefox compered to IE8


    i have text font set at bold, itailic and aerial black but every time i start a new line/paragraph it reverts to ..........

    this font !!!!!
     
  2. thehutchies

    thehutchies Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    1,541
    Location:
    The Wheelèd Shed
    It has just started happening on mine, too.
    Only on certain pages on certain sites, though, strangely.

    I'm going to reinstall it and see what happens!
     
  3. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks
    http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Some+text+shows+up+bold+after+upgrade?bl=n&s=text%20size

    Check this out

    Steve
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    just tried starting firefox in safe mode to see if theres any issues there but just the same.

    cant cope with this font style so will probably revert to IE8. :Sad:
     
  6. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks
    John

    Not sure what you are trying but the firefox location is

    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\res\fonts

    Can you point it to this folder?

    I would not give up on Firefox as I have less problems with that than IE, try an uninstal and re-instal

    Good luck

    Steve

    sorry just thought you may want Windows Fonts which is

    C:\WINDOWS\Fonts

    The upper and lower case may help
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2009
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    ill give that a go steve.

    the other was as it said in the link you gave.
     
  8. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks
    John

    You added as I eddited, it is the C:\WINDOWS\Fonts that you want and check you have

    o Arial.ttf
    o Arial Black.ttf
    o Arial Bold.ttf
    o Arial Italic.ttf
    o Arial Bold Italic.ttf
    o Times New Roman.ttf
    o Times New Roman Bold.ttf
    o Times New Roman Italic.ttf
    o Times New Roman Bold Italic.ttf
    o Courier New.ttf
    o Courier New Bold.ttf
    o Courier New Italic.ttf
    o Courier New Bold Italic.ttf

    Check spelling is accurate

    Steve
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    tried that steve but once i get to the font files windows doesnt recognise them so cant open the files.
     
  10. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks

    C:\WINDOWS\Fonts (You want this one)

    or


    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\res\fonts

    If C:\WINDOWS\Fonts states as you say it sounds like you have a corrupted Fonts folder

    If you have then try

    http://fix-fonts-folder.en.softonic.com/

    or similar.....search ......... repair windows fonts folder .............and decide

    Steve
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    just had a thought......it must be in firefox as it works fine in IE8
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    thanks for your help steve.

    problem solved.....firefox removed.
    i really cant be arsed if it doesnt do as i want when i want i'll stick to IE8:Angry:


    thanks.:thumb:
     
  13. syranara

    syranara Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northfleet, Kent, UK
    Hi,

    I got fed up with all the crashes on IE so I installed Firefox about a month ago. A couple of days ago they suggested installing their updated version which I have done. So far all seems to be working perfectly.

    I know that doesn't help with your problem but I do find Firefox much more stable than IE these days. I just got so sick of "sorry Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and must close".

    Maybe it was a bad installation. I'm running version 3.5.6 if it's any help.

    Happy New Year

    Mick and Marion
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    could have been a bad install i suppose.
    everything worked fine and quicker than IE8 but the text font was ridiculously faint and of poor definition, constantly reverted to default on the start of every new paragragh even though id reset it to my preferences.
     
  15. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks
    John

    Do not give up, do a full re-install and try again. For some reason Firefox is playing up a little recently but no where near as much as IE.

    IMHO


    Steve
     
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    just done a re-install from mozilla download page, not from previous stored data.

    no different than last time.
    its the text thats annoying me....its so poorly defined it looks to be pixelating...parts of letters missing and much thinner lines than with ie8.
    the only way to overcome it is to go up to size 2 text which is too large.

    other than being a little slower i never have any issues with ie8.

    many months, even a couple of years since i had IE stop working and close me down.
     
  17. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    In Tools/options/fonts and colours - advanced, is allow pages select its own fonts ticked?
     
  18. JayDee

    JayDee Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    N. Devon
    Would that make a difference? That is ticked in mine; I have Arial 14 as the default; I don't have Papajohn's trouble.

    There must be somebody who knows, but they may be sleeping off the Bank Holiday Sales exhaustion. :BigGrin:



    John
     
  19. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks
  20. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    It seems to make a difference on mine. If you take the tick off then the text reverts back to the settings above the tick and they are quite small.

    Lunarman
     
Loading...

Share This Page