File format for Avtex USB input?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Jerrymjj, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. Jerrymjj

    Jerrymjj Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Alton Hants
    Forgive me if this has been covered a million times before but I have searched and found nothing. I want to play films on my Avtex TV/DVD combo using a USB stick as a source. I have formatted the USB stick in the TV but copied the film files (already converted to MP4) from my computer to the memory stick. I am deliberately using a small 2gig memory stick as I understand Avtex don't like huge ones. I have reached a point where I can see the file, correctly named but when I come to play it, after a lot of thinking, I get a message flashed up which disappears instantly, saying, I think, "Unsupported file format".

    I have used the engineers code to enable DivX but really have no idea where to go from here. Any help would be appreciated massively.

    Jerry
     
  2. Jerrymjj

    Jerrymjj Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Alton Hants
    Sorry, by trial and error have found that the type of avi file that the originals were in actually works on the TV without having any conversion necessary. Sorry to bother anyone who read this.
     
  3. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    5,520
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    My Avtex (W163D) only accepts JPEG & MPEG-4 file extensions.
    MP4 is not the same as MPEG-4.

    This was typed while you were responding.
     
  4. Jerrymjj

    Jerrymjj Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Alton Hants
    Thanks for that. I used a free program called G-Spot (yes really) to identify the codek of a film I knew did work and then used another free piece of software called Freemake Video Converter, to convert the files to MPEG 2 which is what G-Spot told me the other was. I think MPEG-4 is the same but different in some way that I don't understand so went for MPEG-2 which works for me. What I did determine was that the memory stick has to be formatted in the TV before the films are copied onto it.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    1,986
    Location:
    Co Durham
    I copy direct to the USB stick 64Gb in AVI format using Freemake plays fine on my little 10" Avtex.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. zac

    zac Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Hampshire
    I have a 2015 Autotrail Delaware that has an Avtex installed 18.5", this works fine with my 2tb external 2.5" usb drive. The formats are picky but mkv/mp4 def work. I only use this function on occasions as most of the time i will connect the WDTV box to it and that plays everything (ISO/VOB/AVI/MKV/MPG/MP4 etc etc) This connects using 12v as well so NO need for EHU and with a 2tb drive this can hold more than we can watch :) no power needed for the 2tb drive as the power comes from the usb socket either on the tv or if using the WDTV then from this.
     
  7. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi Jerrymjj

    I note that you say you have formatted the USB in the TV. You do not need to do this as the TV should play directly from a USB without any formatting beforehand unless you are going to use the USB stick to record programmes from the TV to play later on. This may explain part of your problem.

    I would suggest you try another stick and I have certainly used memory sticks up to 16gb with no problem.I have also used a Hardrive of at least 1tb. The thing to ensure is that the hardrive must be formatted Fat32 which is the same as memory sticks are and also I found must be USB 2 not USB 3 as whilst they are supposed to be back compatable they do not work. Most hardrives are not Fat32 I can tell you what I use.

    The files I have are .avi with mpeg codecs. Just try putting your films on another stick which you have not formatted in the TV.

    If you want any more info PM me with any questions you may have.

    Doug
     
  8. zac

    zac Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Hampshire
    I think the fat32 was an issue with the earlier versions as my 2tb drive is formatted as NTFS and my Avtex sees this no issues, i also have some films on there that are well over 4gb in size (fat32 file size limit).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,568
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    If it works on MPEG 2 then I would leave it at that. MPEG 4 is a format designed for mobile devices and has a much higher degree of compression than MPEG 2. This means the files are much smaller which could be a big advantage if using a USB memory stick of limited size but this is only achieved with a loss of quality. But whether you can tell the difference on a typical MH screen is another matter! :)
     
  10. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi zzzzac

    Thanks I will bear that in mind and try it on mine sometime.

    Always useful to hear of others experiences.

    Doug
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. harblights

    harblights Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Trefin/Porthgain
    The new avtex 18.5 will do everything you want.free view hd free sat and record and work with sky plus hd with perfect HD picture.please excuse punctuation .
     
  12. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    @harblights
    Does this tv have 2 tuners or 1 please? Also what do you record on? Does it have a Hard drive?
    Sorry to hi jack post.
     
  13. harblights

    harblights Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Trefin/Porthgain
Loading...

Share This Page