Free Member
Aug 18, 2010
Clifton, banbury
Funster No
MH
Fifthwheel
Exp
I'm a newbie
Anyone got any experience of booking ferries with a fifthwheel? We have a Nissan Navara with a celtic rambler and it looks like we will have to go freight. Anyone have any recommendations for who to book with.

chatter

Free Member
Aug 3, 2009
cheshire
Funster No
MH
5th wheel
Exp
10+
Measure the truck and 5ver when hitched to give you the overall length in meters and split it between towing vehicle and caravan, go onto ferry website and tick option 4x4 then option towing trailer or caravan, you will then get 2 boxes for the height and length, in 4x4 put length and height e.g. 5mtr. and 1.83mtr then in the box for towed item the same again e.g. 8mtr and 3.5mtr. I have used the measurements for our 5th wheel as the example. Remember to allow for such things as your aircon unit on your roof in the height section.

Welcome to Fun

Landy lover

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2009
Zummerzet
Funster No
MH
27ft Eurolight
Exp
Camping Caravaning now 5'ering 49 years
PM chatter - she has done this and has the right ferries and the formula to go as a caravan - think she was quoting £140 Dover / Calais

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs
When we had our`s we always if possible went Dover to Dunkirk (Norfolk Lines)... They knocked spots off all the others...

And if I remember correctly where you book like a car & caravan we knocked a few feet off the 5th wheel,,,,, otherwise you are being charged for the bit that is tucked away under the nose of the 5th wheel if you get my drift...

The others we used which were a bit more expensive but suited us because we lived down South was L.D. lines.... from Portsmouth to Cherbourg, not sure if they are still running though.

Hope this helps.. :thumb:

chatter

Free Member
Aug 3, 2009
cheshire
Funster No
MH
5th wheel