Fiat tyre pressure warning system problem

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by peterc10, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,198
    Likes Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Weighed the motorhome axles loaded and got 1,890kg on front and 2,410kg on back. Both within limits, front by 410kg and the back by 90kg. So I decided to reset the pressure to that which Continental say I should use for the 225/75R16 camper tyres I have - 3.5bar at the front and 5.25bar on the rear

    Now my factory Fiat fitted tyre pressure warning system (came with motorhome when I bought it) is telling me that my front tyre pressures are too low!! I have read the Fiat manual and can't find a way to adjust it for these revised pressures. Anybody had this problem before and know how to fix it please?
     
  2. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,198
    Likes Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Thought I would bump this as I am still struggling with the problem
     
  3. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,509
    Likes Received:
    3,309
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Hi, I don't know the answer, in fact I didn't even know Fiat were fitting a TPMS system. Have you asked Fiat themselves?

    D.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,576
    Likes Received:
    9,700
    Location:
    East Sussex
    I just tried google and apparently it's not adjustable by the user
    You may need to get your Fiat dealer to reset the pressures
    Don't want to post a link as its another MH forum
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    4,703
    Location:
    Guisborough
    What pressure does the door pillar plate (or manual) call for, maybe you will just have to put a bit more in the front, I am running the 225x75x16 conti fourseasons 121 load rating, the axle load is about the same as yours and I am at just over 4 bar or 60 psi.

    Seems a bit silly not to be able to reset it though.

    Martin
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,198
    Likes Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Thanks everybody.

    AFAIK there is no door pillar plate. And the information on tyre pressures in Fiat's handbook has been overstamped by Hymer with the German for invalid. Not surprising given that Hymer uprated the front suspension and the wheels and tyres. But then all Hymer do in their handbook is give one figure based upon the rated maximum axle load, not the actual. And there is no way that I can achieve that on the front, no matter how I load the van.

    The tyre makers know what is best for their tyres when you give them the actual axle loads and Continental are willing to back it up in writing.

    I have spoken to Fiat Pro garage (it was there I discovered the problem) and they did not have a clue. All they could tell me was that it was worked by Bluetooth. I spoke to Fiat and they said I will need to contact Hymer and they will contact Fiat.

    Interestingly I had to let some air out of the tyre to get down to it, which of course appears to be a puncture to the system. I wonder if I let more out and then repumped it up it would reset itself to the new figure?

    It is a factory fit extra on all 2015 Hymer Fiat based A classes. I suspect it was new to the X290.
     
  7. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    4,703
    Location:
    Guisborough
    If it's going to reset itself you have to drive it for a while, something like over 15 mph for so minutes, or you do on our car but it's a BMW so this could completely different.

    Do you know what pressure the system is looking for?

    Martin
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. timetochill

    timetochill Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    derbyshire
    Same system on the Peugeot cab needs to be done by main dealer even they don't seem to have a clue
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,198
    Likes Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Drove back from the Fiat Pro dealer t a good speed and it did not rest itself. Have switcjhed the ignition on and off on several occasions with no result either. :(

    All the warning does is tell me what the pressure is and says its low. It does not tell me what it should be, although I reduced it from about 4 bar,and it was OK before that.
     
  10. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,198
    Likes Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Did you manage to get them to change it eventually please?
     
  11. timetochill

    timetochill Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    derbyshire
    Goes to Peugeot dealer mid March for ignition switch recall and this will post the result it also has gear change indication which indicates to change up when in 6 th gear they also checking the software this known problem
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    4,703
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Back to 4 bar possibly, won't make much difference.

    Martin
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,198
    Likes Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Except a harder ride. I will go to Sainsbury's filling station next week and try the drop down and then pump back up and see if that cures it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page