Fiat Ducato power loss up hill.

Discussion in 'Base Chassis Section' started by Effilita, Jul 16, 2016.

  1. Effilita

    Effilita

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Hi, I have a Roller Team motor home on a 2014 FIAT Ducato chassis. It has developed a fault whereby when turning on the ignition the warning "check engine" comes on and also the engine block hazard light. The vehicle drives perfectly on the level but substancially loses power when going uphill, hills I used to easily navigate in 4th gear now require me to be in 2nd gear. The vehicle was services by a Fiat garage a few weeks prior this problem arising. I am currently in the Scottish Northern Isles where there are no Fiat agencies so professional help is limited. Any ideas please.
     
  2. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    15,268
    Location:
    notloB
    Hi and welcome to the site, straight to the point eh? Very well then, your engine for whatever reason has gone into limp mode, it's a get you home/garage setting.
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,952
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    And it goes into 'limp' mode to prevent further damage.
    Any half decent garage, not just fiat, will be able to connect an OBD11 reader and diagnose the fault and possibly clear it to resume normal use.
    Many faults are a one off, just a sensor glitch, and may never come back once cleared.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Steve

    Steve Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    Compton Berkshire
    I will need to be connected to a diagnostic unit to find the problem or you are just guessing.
     
  5. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,997
    Likes Received:
    30,897
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Or, you could try the 'disconnect battery for five then re-connect and try again'. That sometimes cures it. (y)
     
  6. TerryL

    TerryL Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    North East
    Could be a number of things, but as pappajohn says, it needs to be connected to a diagnostic reader of some sort (I've got my own, they're not expensive). Given the age of the vehicle it is most likely a temporary glitch and if so the diagnostic unit can clear it and you're away. This is the problem with modern electronically controlled engines, but heigh ho, that's progress for you.

    Tootles posted as I was writing. Sometimes switching engine off, wait a few seconds then restart. Do this five times and it may clear itself - if not you'll need the diagnostics.
     
  7. jtp890

    jtp890 Funster

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    wakefield
    Ive just unplugged egr valve and cleared limp mode
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,997
    Likes Received:
    30,897
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Better tell Badknee that. He's been limp for years. (y)
     
Loading...

Share This Page