Ferry ramps - overhang issue? (1 Viewer)

Jul 18, 2010
Bournemouth and Gibraltar
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2003
Although we were thinking of going over to Espana via the Chunnel in December because we are told that there are no steep ramps imvolved, having looked at the new Poole/santander LD service which is local to us, the ferry option is becoming quite overpowering.
But with my scooter rack, i have an overhang which from the end of the rear tyre to the end of the rack is 8ft/2.45mtres.
I have asked LD whether they can safely accomodate and await their response. Luckily too, I know one of the stevedores at Poole who will have a look at the ramps actually in use on their vessel and will let me have some feedback.
In the meantime, does anyone have any tips/experiences please?
Thanks

dogman

Free Member
Oct 24, 2013
chepstow
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
I'm a newbie
Although we were thinking of going over to Espana via the Chunnel in December because we are told that there are no steep ramps imvolved, having looked at the new Poole/santander LD service which is local to us, the ferry option is becoming quite overpowering.
But with my scooter rack, i have an overhang which from the end of the rear tyre to the end of the rack is 8ft/2.45mtres.
I have asked LD whether they can safely accomodate and await their response. Luckily too, I know one of the stevedores at Poole who will have a look at the ramps actually in use on their vessel and will let me have some feedback.
Thanks

Is the scooter rack likely to bottom out? If not then the overhang will be considerably less, possibly by as much as the .45 metres or a tad more.

OP
OP
sciac2001
Jul 18, 2010
Bournemouth and Gibraltar
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2003
Thanks for response.