Ferry crossing. How accurate do I need to be with my length!! (1 Viewer)

Feb 26, 2013
Pinar de Campoverde, Spain
Funster No
MH
Giottiline T60
Exp
Since March 2013
Too excited to wait for Lincoln show to test out the new motorhome so we are going to head off to France for 2 weeks on 5th September. I have never used the ferries before but have found what looks like a good price through Direct Ferries sailing from Dover to Dunkirk with DFDS for £96 return. My question is this: how accurate do you need to be with the length? Our motorhome is 7.27 metres long but there is a bike rack on the back which will remain folded as the bikes are in the garage. When I look at booking it asks me for the make, model, length and height of the motorhome. If I add 25cm to allow for the rack on the back the cost of the ferry jumps to £156 with DFDS or £131 with P&O. Can I just put the actual dimensions of the vehicle or will I live to regret it. Would welcome comments from anyone with experience of using the ferries please. :france:

Langtoftlad

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 12, 2011
Langtoft, South Lincs
Funster No
MH
WildAx Aurora FB [PVC]
Exp
Since 2015
They ask for the make model height & length of the motorhome
If they don't specifically say "include" bike racks etc, then I wouldn't ;).

OP
OP
Coolbeanz
Feb 26, 2013
Funster No
MH
Giottiline T60
Exp
Since March 2013
They ask for the make model height & length of the motorhome
If they don't specifically say "include" bike racks etc, then I wouldn't ;).
That's what I was thinking but wondered if anyone had been challenged on their length.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
I cannot say that this will always work, but I have travelled with many ferry companies. We are 7.3m and I always book the up to 7m ticket, never had a problem yet ;-)

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp