Fax Modem Software

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Braunston, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    Has anyone any suggestions on what Fax Modem software is the easiest to use and if possible free ? I want to use the internal fax/modem as a fax machine, I am using Vista Home Premium

    Thanks for any advice
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2009
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,447
    Likes Received:
    25,133
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Have a good look around Vista, surely it's built in.

    Cor, brings back memories of long ago. There was one bees-knees fax program though I can't remember it now. Cost a fortune.
     
  3. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    They apparently have stopped providing the basic fax software in Vista home premium that comes free with XP, its included in the higher levels of Vista but not in the home premium.

    I downloaded an evaluation fax program and it appears there is something wrong with my fax/modem it won't recognize a dial tone,

    I have replaced the telephone leads etc and updated the drivers but while in a self test it reports everything is OK with the modem, when i try to dial out it just reports no dial tone, any ideas would be welcome,

    I have been on to HP tech and after a hour or more they can't seem to come up with any solutions other than to book it in for possible replacement, but that seems to be over the top as i will probably never want to use it again as a fax.

    Any suggestions would be welcome

    Braunston




     
  4. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Have you tried checking if the default dial tone is set to pulse or tone? AFAIK it should be tone dialing, or the dialtone will not be recognised. Windows had a terminal program where you could send commands directly to the modem, not sure if Vista still has it.....the loss of fax capability due to incompatibilities of broadband routers with fax modems is one of the negatives of progress I guess.....I also miss the fax modem!! I think the program you are referring to may be Winfax Pro - I still have a copy somewhere I think - all really tech advanced offices had it in the mid-1990's!!!!:Rofl1:
     
  5. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,246
    Likes Received:
    34,478
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I always liked Cheyenne Bitware which I first obtained when it was bundled with (I think) the second modem I bought. Remember those days when you had to buy a modem because the PC didn't have one? :BigGrin:

    I have it running on this (XP) machine though it's ages since I actually sent/received a fax. Never tried it on Vista but I expect it would run in Compatibility Mode if nothing else.

    Graham
     
Loading...

Share This Page