faulty toshiba 2450 laptop

Discussion in 'Computers' started by SC 05 OUT, May 10, 2012.

  1. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,333
    Location:
    doncaster
    Been given my nieces laptop to mend, it hasn’t worked for a while, so mugins offerd to fix it!!

    It boots to the recovery cd ok, the proper set is missing but I have a set that from a very similar machine (both Toshiba satellite p4’s so it should be ok)

    It does the loading of windows bit, but on reboot from hard drive it goes BSOD

    Error STOP )x0000007b ( 0xf9E512640, 0xc000000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

    That’s about it, I did think it might have been the hard drive, so I swopped it out with my portable drive, same problem, and the laptop drive seemed to work ok in the portable housing.

    I’m guessing either board failure? But why will it work with the recovery cd and only stops on booting from window xp hard drive?

    Or bios failure/corruption/virus? But I have no experience there

    Seems a big shame to bin it, anybody got any suggestions?
     
  2. browne4573

    browne4573 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    north east scotland
    Might be the memory at fault? If it is possible try taking one memory out at a time. Don't bin it, if it won't load windows it will probably load a Linux variant.
     
  3. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,333
    Location:
    doncaster
    Im not sure thats the problem as it will work ok in load o/s mode etc and Im sure if memory was playing up it would not get that far but I could be wrong there?, all google stuff seems to piont to hardware change, but there has been none?
     
  4. bmb1uk

    bmb1uk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    LEICS
    could lend you my long handled 14lb universal fixing tool, usualy mends all things :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  5. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
    You would be better off getting a win7/winxp disc and formatting then re-install...
     
  6. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,333
    Location:
    doncaster
    ah a man after my own hammer:Rofl1:
     
  7. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,333
    Location:
    doncaster
    did do that, I formatted it in my 2.5inch caddy and used an differant xp cd, it loaded the files ok, but on re boot it was the same error code. I do have acces to a win 7 setup disk I could borrow to test but i think the out come will be the same
     
  8. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    9,588
    Location:
    Dorset
    Have you tried clearing the BIOS?
    on boot up press Del I think with toshibas could be F1
    in the bios screens reset to factory default
    reboot


    this could however be a corrupted bios and need reflashing with the latest for that model. info on toshibsa support website
     
  9. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
  10. meexi

    meexi Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Angus,Scotland
    Toshiba`s appear to have a common fault on the graphics chip and sometimes it needs reseating. Also make sure the fan is turning easiliy, To reset the BIOS take the battery out and press the on/off button for 15 seconds.
     
  11. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Aaah, the British Leyland toolkit...................:Wink:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
    You didn't need a 14lb anything to crack a British Leyland...a toffee hammer would have done it they were so thin....:Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,333
    Location:
    doncaster
    any idea were the graphics chips sits on the mb?

    its gettnig silly now,

    Bois has been reset to default (and back again) it holds the date ok

    harddrive has been out again , did a dskchk and a virus scan (wislt conected to a caddy on my desktop)

    has had umtine instalations from a toshiba disk set, an xp disk, a win 7 disk

    all install ok, but on reboot give the same error.

    looks like I take it misterton to let somebody use it as a ramp (but AS ITS SLIM, THAT WONT WORK EITHER)

    edit: is it possible to flash the bois if you cant boot the machine? Ive only done befor on a working box
     
  14. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    9,588
    Location:
    Dorset
    i still think the BIOS is potentially corrupt...did you download the new one and reflash?


    unlikely to be the graphics chip if the screen works to install. I assume it boots from cd ok?
     
  15. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    9,588
    Location:
    Dorset
    just taken the time to look up the error code

    its the SATA hard drive controller on the motherboard either incorrectly identifying the drive or a virus/ user error has meant the settings have changed from ATA to AHCI. if updating the bios fails, it is a knackered controller, which is part of the mother board
     
  16. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,333
    Location:
    doncaster
    yes it boots from cd and will install windows ok, when it re boots to hard drive that when the problem crops up,

    I havnt flashed the bios as I cant boot the machine, as I understand it the machine needs to book ok befor I can flash the bois or is that not correct

    all the google stuff seems to piont to new hardware being installed ? but this is not the case,
     
  17. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    9,588
    Location:
    Dorset
    you can flash the BIOS without windows running. From memory you put the new bios file on a cd or usb thumb drive, set the bios to boot from that and it detects the new bios and installs it
     
  18. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,333
    Location:
    doncaster
    Ive ow flashed the bios to latest one, the problems the same, my IT son-in-law thinks the disk controller on the main board has gone, so its scrap.

    Anybody need it for spares, screens ok, 30gb drive, memory stick.

    first to post gets it
     
  19. browne4573

    browne4573 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    north east scotland
    Hi, I'd love to have a play with it, I have wanted to try running Linux from a USB drive so your laptop would be fine for that. If you are generous to send it my way then email me on Browne4573 at yahoo.co.uk and I'll arrange to pay for the postage.

    If it doesn't work for me then I'll free cycle it locally.
     
  20. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,333
    Location:
    doncaster
    its yours then, pm your mail address and Ill post it to you, no charge tomorrow...if you can get it going shove a fiver in a charity box of your chioce
     
Loading...

Share This Page