Farewell to the caravan and tent, welcome campervan (1 Viewer)

JWTaylor

Free Member
Sep 26, 2012
New Forest
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
After years of camping and caravanning we have at long last taken the plunge and bought our first motorhome. We had a list of criteria - including fixed bed and garage, but when we saw our 1998, Hymer B584 it didn't fit the crieria but looking in superb condition it cried out 'buy me'.

We took a long time in getting to this point as we had debated about practicalities of what to do when you get to a site and you want to pop out for meal, day etc, hassle of packing up etc. But with our son starting university 200 miles away we took the plunge.

A couple of questions to Hymer B584 owners - what mpg can I reasonably expect? and secondly, the rooflight in the bathroom is fading and has that aged yellow tint. Is it an easy and relatively non-expensive job to replace?

Look forward to hearing from you,

JWT

Last edited:

Carol

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 2, 2007
North Wales.
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
18 years s Motorhome (33years caravans)
Welcome JWT, first off well done on finding Motorhome Fun, a lot of information on here.

We have had our 584 for 7 years now on a 2,000 plate and still love it as much as when we bought it.

Your mileage we average 26mpg running around and 30 on motorways.

Don't think there is a lot to be done with the roof light in the bathroom, with out a new one being fitted, if the original is still working I would leave it and see how you get on with it. Give it a clean on the out side but be careful they can be fragile.

For getting about we have two Assist bikes on the bike rack, we find with these we can explore the area seeing things we would other wise miss. Alternatively some would rather a scooter on the back.