Ext HARD DRIVE ...Problem..Help

Discussion in 'Computers' started by davidallan, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. davidallan

    davidallan Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Leeds
    Finally got around to buying an Externel Hard drive unit- Black Box Thingy...An IOMEGA 500gb. NEW

    I have now tried many times to do a Back-up but ALL have failed :cry::cry:

    Easy Plug and Play system and the Light blinks + the progression bar show it ALMOST getting to the END of its work.......then that Dreaded message saying that the Back-up has failed ERROR CODE ; 0X8078002A.

    It does suggest that I alter settings ????? Not me matey:Blush: Wouldn't know where to start...aaaaand probably Mess up the new Computer [Win 7 Prem]:Eeek::Eeek:
    Its only trying to back-up a few gb's...no where near 500 !!
    REALLY SIMPLE PLAIN ENGLISH SPEAKING REPLIES WOULD BE VERY HELPFULL:Sad:

    PLEEEEEESE FUNSTERS DO TRY NOT TO GO OFF TOPIC ?

    Many many hopefull THANKS
    David n Liz
     
  2. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
    Need more information...what os are you running??

    You could try using the windows back up tool to do it..
     
  3. tonywolst

    tonywolst Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
  4. motor roamin

    motor roamin Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Leicester
    Now I am one of those dangerous people a little knowledge but not enough, dosn't the formatting fat32 work on both Mac and Windows, the reason I ask is we are thinking of going to Mac for our next office comps and the sales person led me to believe this was the case?

    Or did I totaly miss understand her :RollEyes:

    All the best Rick
     
  5. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    14,019
    Location:
    UK
    Just googled the error message.

    This thread is answered by microsoft who point you to this KB article.

    Not sure if it will help you at all.
     
  6. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I must say I find most backup software I have tried more trouble than its worth. I just copy the directories with the stuff I want a backup copy of , no prob, and you know it's done. Not automatic I agree.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    That is correct Rick .. Mac and Windows can both read FAT32.. I run both Mac and Windows and transfer stuff using an external drive formatted FAT32
    Oddly, Windows7 doesn't have the option to format FAT32 in the disc manager .. but there is an easy way to do though using this little program http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/index.htm?guiformat.htm
    It can also be done using the windows command prompt but if like me that gives you headaches this little program works a treat and it's a lot faster.

    I found this out today when I decided to use an external drive with my Denon HiFi, loaded music and the Denon couldn't read because as it was formatted NTFS :Doh:
    Re formatted FAT32 using guiformat, loaded music and all is well.. :Smile:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    14,019
    Location:
    UK
    Because Macs have a BSD basis you should be able to read NTFS as well surely?
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    don't know Karl.. mine are the old PPC Macs,.. perhaps the Intel Macs can ?
     
  10. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    14,019
    Location:
    UK
    I was thinking of the OS/X Based ones only sorry.
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    PPC Macs run OS X through to OS X Leopard 10.5.8

    then it's goodnight .. :Laughing:
     
  12. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    How exactly are you trying to do your back up?

    1. By using right click on the files then "copy" and then "paste" onto the hard drive... or
    2. Right click on the files and using "send to" then clicking the hard drive.. or
    3. Using a "back up" application.

    Using either of the first two should work and with ease..

    Have you tried to just copy a small file, (mp3, photo, document etc) onto the external hard drive and see if that works. If not you could just have got a "duff" hard drive.

    Do your files copy ok onto a usb stick such as 4gb or 8gb, this again could point to a duff hard drive.

    Make sure the hard drive is ok, before you even think about altering settings, especially if you are unsure of what you are doing.

    Remember the hard drive is new and under guarantee and you say your PC is also new so it should work any of the easy way's as above in 1. and 2.....

    Callum
     
  13. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,224
    Likes Received:
    9,612
    Location:
    Dorset
    Install the sp1 update and all other updates to bring the system up to date using windows update. When done if you still have the problem try copying just a few files or 1 folder at a time. When you get to the problem files you should see an error message

    You wont mess up your computer if you just stick to genuine updates
     
  14. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    we are now on Lion with Mountain Lion due in summer

    Jim we are up to Lion now with Mountain Lion due in the summer.

    I do a continuous back up every hour or sooner if I hit the backup now button.. I have a 2 tb Western Digital back up drive connected to my MacProBook.. it allows as many versions of the save as you want and over writes as required. Simple reverse system. You can get now 3 tb for under £200... they are called Studio Books and are available for Mac's .. I am running Mac OS 10.7.3 at the moment.

    Bob
     
  15. davidallan

    davidallan Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Leeds
    My problem ext/Hard Drive......

    MANY THANKS FOR ALL your INPUT/ADVICE ......:Wink:

    AS THAT MOST FAMOUS EXPLORER SAID ".......I'm going out & I may be gone for quite a while " !?:Eek!::Eek!:

    Over the next few days I shall try most of the contributing Funster's ideas + Advice........At least those that can be understood :Eeek:

    If there is a positive outcome to this saga I shall post and update.,

    IF Not then the little black box thingy might well end up on Fleebay:Angry:

    Cheers for all your Help
    David & Liz
     
Loading...

Share This Page