Experience in taking dogs to France (1 Viewer)

The Lobster

Free Member
Aug 13, 2011
Borders of Scotland
Funster No
MH
Bürstner A576
Exp
Still getting started
I have a pedigree Staffordshire bull terrier... rightly it is not considered a "dangerous" or "guard dog" in this country - but looks a little like some that are. I can't see any definitive info on the feasibility of taking it with us on a motorhome trip to France.

I notice that the pre-return jab for worms etc. is not required from 1-Jan-2012 so it appears to be straightforward as long as he's micro-chipped and has a pet passport.

Can someone with experience please comment? Thanks.

--Andrew

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Sorry, I have no personal experience .. have you looked at the French Embassy guide ?

here

Link Removed

B.Other breeds classified as guard dogs (cat. 2) with a pedigree can be imported into France :

Staffordshire terrier

Upvote 0

canopus

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2010
rural Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Carado CV640 Pro
Exp
Since 2010
I have a pedigree Staffordshire bull terrier... rightly it is not considered a "dangerous" or "guard dog" in this country - but looks a little like some that are. I can't see any definitive info on the feasibility of taking it with us on a motorhome trip to France.

I notice that the pre-return jab for worms etc. is not required from 1-Jan-2012 so it appears to be straightforward as long as he's micro-chipped and has a pet passport.

Can someone with experience please comment? Thanks.

--Andrew

Its not a jab - just a worming tablet. Tip Take your own with you and Front Line flea treatment also:thumb:

Upvote 0
OP
OP
The Lobster

The Lobster

Free Member
Aug 13, 2011
Borders of Scotland
Funster No
MH
Bürstner A576
Exp
Still getting started
Thanks for those links - they seem to confirm that there is a catch-all "but it might get seized anyway"... so I'd be interested to hear from anyone with practical experience as well.

--A