Ex caravanner, jumping in the european deep end (1 Viewer)

JennyMG

Free Member
Jun 18, 2016
Bedford
Funster No
MH
A class - i think
Exp
Hi, my husband and I have been caravanning for 15-20 years. He's a keen mountain-biker and spends many weekends away with our son (now 14) at the races. So we've just stepped up and bought a motorhome to travel around a bit more easily.

Its a biggie, 7.1m long Home Car with a big garage at the back under our bed and an overhead cab for the young man. 8 years old an with a few gremlins that I might need some help with - like a fridge that doesn't get really cold and a damp patch - but it was a good price and we're not afraid of the work to tidy her up.

My biggest questions though are that we plan to tour europe in August. France to Germany to Italy for a world cup race. With the dog.

I can't get a clear answer from google, so I thought I'd ask here. Does anyone know if you have to put a dog in a crate to travel in any of the european countries, or is it just recommended like here? And have the muzzle laws in italy been relaxed, or does she definitely need one :( Our dog is not used to either muzzle or crate - in fact as she's a giant breed I'm not even sure a crate would fit in the van - so we're not keen on doing this but don't really want to leave her behind.

Any help greatly welcome!

Hollyberry

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2011
New Forest.
Funster No
MH
None.
Exp
4yrs
I think the law in France states that dogs have to be restrained so that's either a crate or a harness and seat belt clip.
Folding crates available on EBay ( fabric as opposed to metal--- lighter and less rattly ) but you need the floor space for the size your dog needs-- plus you need to be able to put it up and down in the van!
Don't know anything about muzzle laws in Italy but I do know there's a " banned breed " list in France so check your dog's breed isn't on that.

And :pink: to Fun.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang