europa sim 'services terminated'

Discussion in 'Continental Touring' started by lou020, Jul 22, 2014.

  1. lou020

    lou020 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    huddersfield
    just been on Europa sim home page, and it says europasim services terminated on 18th july 2014.

    i bloody hope not,, i paid good money for this sim card about 3 months ago and used it once. It would seem i can still top up,which is sounds normal for these rip off company's
    Anybody got any further info.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,513
    Likes Received:
    9,880
    Location:
    E Yorks
    I suspect that Vodaphone who I believe supply the network have pulled the plug ... as happened with other cheap sim cards.
     
  3. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
  4. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,841
    Likes Received:
    76,156
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    That notice doesn't look quite right, the site looks more like it's been hacked. Maybe @Addie knowa what is going on and will let us know later
     
  5. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,138
    Likes Received:
    16,378
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    But why would you need it. 3 are giving you your home tariff in France now and from October it will be Europe wide.
     
  6. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    but dave u have to contract to 3 ?
     
  7. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    bloody been singing how good it is i hope it aint stopped
     
  8. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,841
    Likes Received:
    76,156
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Yes but some people may have only just bought it Dave. Until the recent 'Three" breakthrough this was the best option and still is till Three go Europewide.
    Bill no you don't need a contract, just buy a data card here and take it over there.
     
  9. lou020

    lou020 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    huddersfield
    anyone used a THREE SIM abroad, i was just wondering how good it is for data, were going to Begium, Germany,Austria,Swiss,France,,oh and back to Belgium, 31/2 weeks,
    i have a 3 sim, according to their website you need to be with them for at least 30 days.
    and it says PAYG is included.
     
  10. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,138
    Likes Received:
    16,378
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Agree, am contracted to 3 with my phone for the princely sum of £6-70 per month. But my mobile wifi is PAYG. Everything works well in France and cannot wait to try it in Spain in October.
     
  11. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,435
    Likes Received:
    11,116
    Location:
    Kettering
    I'd rather have no phone or internet or anything else than deal with Three again even for a second. Don't care how cheap they are or what services they claim to offer. Horrible horrible company to deal with if you have any issues. And I was with them for about 10 years more or less from when they first appeared.
     
  12. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    addie aint got it now on his site
     
  13. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    so dave is it ok in spain as well will need it in benidorm the site wifi there is normally shite
     
  14. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,138
    Likes Received:
    16,378
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    It is supposed to be the same home service in Spain as and from October. I have no issues with site wifi as its great, its just the phone I need in Spain.
     
  15. lou020

    lou020 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    huddersfield
    I've still got credit on my europa sim, when 3 announced their new deal , Addie was still saying europa sim was better deal.
    i wonder if my cedit card co can do anything,
    i've bought something that is a sham or even fraud.
     
  16. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Three in France last week used it all the time never switched it off, never cost a penny, BUT, don't try it in those countries yet, I went over the border into Belgium and immediately had a text to say they had taken £5 out of my allowance and they take it everyday you are there even if you just check an email or something, as soon as your data kicks in its a fiver, but in France brilliant signal everywhere, but I also had my O2 phone with me and it appears that now whereas you used to only get 15 meg a day for £1.99 you now get unlimited in any country for that so used that one in Belgium and switched three off
     
  17. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    i have credit on mine but i would reckon it depends what the credit is otherwise if its not much l;eave it or it will do ya head in trying to get a refund for a low amount
    ok thanks dave im looking into the 3 now
     
  18. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    12,692
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I'm in Belgium and am currently using my Europa Sim with no problem , better not load any more credit just in case :rolleyes:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Might add I am on pay and go , no contract on three but contract on O2O2
     
  20. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,206
    Likes Received:
    2,286
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    These were a standard Italian Vodafone Sim card and package that were just marketed to the rest of Europe by Europasim as I understand it. I wonder if it just means that they no longer sell them rather than the SIM not working any more? I have emailed Europasim to ask them about this.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Traveller_HA5_3DOM
    Replies:
    36
    Views:
    1,033
  2. dbnosey
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    553

Share This Page