Oct 19, 2013
East Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 115
Exp
Few years
Hi all
I'm at the Peterborough Show and there are two stalls here offering engine performance retuning. One is a add on box and the other is a proper reprogram of the engine computer system.

Has anyone any experience of having this dine and what is the better option? The proper retune without the box is £199 and I am thinking that is probably best...

Richard

MC 55 FUN

Free Member
Feb 18, 2016
Rural South West Wales.
Funster No
MH
2015 Majestic 195
Exp
Since 20th Feb' 2016
The boxes often only increase fuel delivery, a proper, bespoke remap is the better, although more expensive option i.m.o.

frankw

Free Member
Dec 3, 2016
Funster No
Exp
Richard - no brainer, there's no desire to go back (which is simple and usually no cost) from a reputable, proven remap (I have no experience of the 'box').

Wouldn't purchase blind at the/any show unless you have spoken to fellow m/homers who have experienced that actual remap on the same engine as yours - many owners with actual experience on the forum. Dismiss those who are negative with regard to a remap and who haven't experienced one on their own vans - they will be talking through a hole in their head… enquire of @MH55FUN, if he has a remap/box fitted to his van, a search of his posts will confirm… or perhaps, he's just another Kinnock from Tredegar, rural south wales? :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

fleurette

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 30, 2012
worcester
Funster No
MH
A Class Frankia I640 SD
Exp
Hi Richard,
Had my Fiat X250 130 remapped in 2012 at Peterborough show by Alex at Boosters and have never looked back, the increase in power was noticeable driving it from the show ground first time and in 5+years have never had any problems and would certainly recommend Boosters for a remap.
Hope it helps
Nigel

fleurette

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 30, 2012
worcester
Funster No
MH
A Class Frankia I640 SD
Exp