electric step

Discussion in 'American RV's' started by Hydecolt, May 24, 2011.

1. Hydecolt

Hydecolt Read Only Funster

we have a problem with the electric step on a Rexhall Vision,
    normally when the door is opened the step automaticaly comes out... but..
    today when the door opens the step moves a couple of inches then stops, the same happens when you wish to retract it, its as though the power is only at the motor for a second.....has anyone any suggestions,
    thanks Anna,

2. M1TCH

M1TCH Read Only Funster

Im no expert but it could be seizing try a few squirts of the magic WD40 thats why i like my manual step hope this helps Gray.

3. Geo

Geo Trader - Funster

Clean and lubricate all the moving parts then pull and push step in and out to assist the motor if it wont move after that, suspect a motor fault

Bear in mind they get all the road crud thrown at them when running
    If it does free off remove most of the grease/oil you have used as this will attract more muck try to clean up well and use a dry graphite grease to finish of with on the moving bits
    Geo

4. zaskar

zaskar Funster

Hmmmm, when they're good, they're very good but when they misbehave, they're an absolute pain in the butt !:Angry: ........and both of mine were a pain from day 1:cry:

As has been said, make sure every thing is clean and lubricated cos they get filthy and gritty.

Remove the split pin and disconect the link from the motor to step and that way you can run the motor and manually slide the mechanism seperately to narrow down which is at fault.

One of the most common faults with the step is a bad earth connection which will send the control board haywire giving all sorts of different faults which seem to contradict each other wheen you read the step manual. Dont just look at the earth point, disconnect it and clean it thoroughly before reconecting.