Electric Step stopped retracting automatically

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by N&K, Aug 22, 2009.

  1. N&K

    N&K

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Hi Everyone

    I have a "mappa" step on our Autoroller. It has stopped retracting automatically when the ignition/engine is started. The manual operation of the step works 100%.

    I have pulled out the fridge vent and found a relay and the wires to the manual in/out switch. The Microswitch on the step looks to be working fine on the underside of the motorhome.

    Any ideas on how to get it working again? Could it just need a new relay?

    thanks in advance

    N&K
     
  2. Landy lover

    Landy lover Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,024
    Likes Received:
    3,529
    Location:
    Zummerzet
    maybe a silly question but have you checked to see if everything else 12 volt is working it could be a fuse - sometimes the manufacturers use in line fuses they can be right b--er to find simple circuit tester might help
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,906
    Location:
    YO11 2BD

    two ways to find out.

    touch the relay while someone turns on the ignition....you should feel the relay click in.

    another way is to find the live feed wire to the relay and the feed wire from the relay to the step motor.

    remove from relay and connect them together and turn on the ignition.....if the step retracts the motor's working but the relay is kaput.

    relays arent expensive and it could be useful to have a spare anyway.
     
  4. N&K

    N&K

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Berkshire
    hi

    Everything seems to work, and all fuses are ok in the box. I have just traced some more wiring under the sink, and now I'm off to find my 12v meter. I have opened the relay and if I push the relay manually the step goes in, so I suspect its not getting its signal to retract or the relay is dead. If I find the 12V which goes on and off with the ignition then I assume its gotta be the relay now....cheers.


    Thanks pappajohn, there is no click on the relay when the ignition is turned on/started. Once i take a meter reading and see if there is 12V then hopefully just the relay :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2009
  5. N&K

    N&K

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Hi Landy lover & Pappa John

    thanks, the 12V signal is there when the ignition is on, but there is no action from the relay. I'll go to Halfrawds tomorrow and let them rip me off for a new one :BigGrin:

    thanks for the quick replies hopefully that will fix it.

    Cheers N&K
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2009
  6. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Hi, whilst it is olmost certainly the relay failed the question is why. Increased current drawn because the step is stiff and sticking is probably the answer, make sure you clean, oil/grease as instructed by the manufacturer. don't be tempted to mask the problem by increasing the wattage of the relay.
    Good luck.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2009
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,906
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    or the ampage.....
    relays are rated in amps roger:thumb:

    too low an ampage relay and it will burn out but too high and the fuse will blow if theres an overload fault leaving the relay undamaged.
    probably better with a slightly higher ampage relay in my opinion.

    you having an off day roger?:BigGrin:
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,906
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    check the relay earth connection.....remove the earth, clean it and replace.
    or run another temporary wire from the relay earth terminal to a known good earth to see if it works then.
     
  9. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    so they are John, past my bedtime anyway, hee hee
     
Loading...

Share This Page