Elddis Wiring Loom on Autoquest 155

Discussion in 'Peugeot' started by Cobnarowl, Oct 19, 2015.

  1. Cobnarowl

    Cobnarowl Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    New 2015 Elddis 155.When putting on rear fog lights ,a yellow triangle and message warning me to get lights looked at comes on the dashboard.Yellow triangle remains on even when lights are turned off.
    Peugeot claim the fault is in the wiring loom when the chassis was converted to a motorhome so can't investigate.
    Does Elddis "add" to the loom when the Peugeot plus chassis are converted to form the 155?
     
  2. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,425
    Likes Received:
    11,099
    Location:
    Kettering
    Yes, if you think about it they can't do anything other than alter it. Not just Eldiss, it's the same for any converter.

    They start with a base chassis with at most just the cab on it. The rear light clusters are in the motorhome body so they must be wired by the converter. I don't think this picture is a Peugeot chassis, it's just to show the idea.

    page38b-1.jpg
     
  3. Mikeco

    Mikeco Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Market Rasen
    Had a problem with a wiring loom or harness as it was called a few years ago due to the dealer adding stuff to it in this case a sat dish and cruise control. The new connections led to the wiring burning out and Fiat blamed the dealer. In the end it cost £3000 to rewire the van which was 1 year old. The dealer refused to pay the garage and they never did.
    If you want it sorted then it will be down to the dealer.
     
  4. Cobnarowl

    Cobnarowl Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Nick,I would have thought Elddis would have bought in chassis looking like this with the rear lights already in place.All that would be needed is to take off the light cluster,place the external wall onto the chassis then re-connect the lights,no extra wiring needed
    [​IMG]
     
  5. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    2,682
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    The pictures I've seen suggest the original rear lights aren't used.
     
  6. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,425
    Likes Received:
    11,099
    Location:
    Kettering
    That would depend on each particular model and vary in each case.

    If it's a model where the light clusters end up in more or less the same place maybe. If it's a model where they are higher on the rear wall then either way the converter would have to make some alterations.

    I would suggest that cost is a bigger factor: If it's cheaper for them to buy a chassis without the rear end half done and do it themselves then I imagine that's what they will do.

    The only way you will get a definitive answer is to contact them and see if they will tell you.
     
  7. Derbyshire wanderer

    Derbyshire wanderer Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    672
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    As above, the selling dealer must rectify. Even if they say it is a chassis fault, let them take it for the discussion with Peugeot. Your contract was with the seller and not the manufacturer.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. gordoncbrown
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    557

Share This Page