Ear plugs: recommendations please.

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Eeyore, Aug 23, 2015.

1. Eeyore

Eeyore Read Only Funster

I've never used ear plugs before but am getting more irritated by external noise on aires and campsites as I get older and less tolerant.

Do earplugs work ? What kind should I buy ? I only want them for use while in bed at night so are they comfortable to lie on ?

All recommendations gratefully received !

2. rosierose

rosierose Funster

You can get ones that are moulded to your ears, so you know they'll fit perfectly. Any places that test your ears should be able to organise for you.

• Like Like x 1
  3. kalamitty

kalamitty Funster

i used to have moulded earplugs for when riding motorcycle, they dont cut out all noises. we were told not to leave them in a long time.

• Like Like x 1
  4. rosierose

rosierose Funster

My husband has slept in his with no problems......they're like a silicon rubber.
    I don't suppose there are many that would cut out ALL noise, you'd certainly want to hear your alarm going off ;)

• Like Like x 2
  5. hilldweller

hilldweller Funster Life Member

For damaging high volume noise yes, for subtle background noise, no.

The Spanish have a brand that works, called Soberano.

• Like Like x 5
  6. BobtheBass

BobtheBass Funster

I don't think the moulded ones would be very comfortable to sleep in? Mine cut out specific frequencies (musicians plugs) and cost £160. Brilliant on stage, but I suspect the yellow foam industrials you buy in a jar containing many but costing little would do the sleepy thing just fine.

• Like Like x 1
  7. Al-Di

Al-Di Funster

its your snoring, or maybe something else your good at,:rolleyes::rolleyes::whistle::)

• Like Like x 1
  8. Vic

Vic Funster

Try the snorestore Co. Uk or com. Lots to choose from and a fraction of the price of chemists or motorbike places. And yes they do work.

• Like Like x 1
  9. TUCANO

TUCANO Funster

Eeyore,