Ducato vs Sprinter as a base PVC (1 Viewer)

sms

Free Member
Oct 20, 2011
England
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
Since 2000
Hello All,

newbie here. Have had a VW Transporter T4 PVC for last 10 years, has been a great van for weekends and occasional week (rock and roll bed, no loo or shower, 2 burner gas hob). Now looking at stepping up to something with more equipment and storage so we can do longer trips of many weeks - PVC's layount like Adria-Twin, Murvi van, IH Oregon etc.

Just wondering if there is any good pro/con feedback or info source on Sprinter verses Ducato. Ducato seems most frequently encountered, but is that because it's cheapest or best. Is the Sprinter worth the extra cash or do you pay for the badge.

cheers
Sean

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
Hi sms & welcome to the Fun:flyingwelcome:

I personally don't think the base vehicle is that much of a big deal as they all do the same job and are all pretty good these days.
The most important part to get right when buying is of course the habitation layout that suits you.

Brian

Jul 28, 2008
Wiltshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Ducato Sportivo
Exp
Since 2005! 2000+ nights so far...
Don't rule out Transit :)
Don't rull out smaller.

FIats are cheaper than Mercs. Beware and check roof heights of conversions and, I believe, the Sprinters have sloping floor.

No idea of your spec/requirements/budget, but we go away in a 4.8m van - over 1000 days in the last 3 and a bit years :) And thats a Tranny with shower/loo/everthing (but compact). I know others do the same in Fiats and slightly bigger vans.

Ours is Horizons Unlimited. You've also not mentioned Vantage who are a good make, and their SmartCampers brand that does the same conversion on used Transits, but a damn sight cheaper.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

aba

Free Member
Oct 27, 2009
yorkshire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
dec 2009