Ducato Speedo dial

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by grandadbaza, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. grandadbaza

    grandadbaza Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Habrough, N E Lincs
    Just wondered if anyone had changed a KPH speedo dial to a MPH one, and had the old KPH one lying around , would like to buy it if anyone had one , to fit latest Ducato
    :thumb:

    Baza
     
  2. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    South Wales,
    Errm! Is that called "Clocking"?

    Doug...
     
  3. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    If you already have an MPH dial it has the KPH also on the dial, although in smaller digits.
    You can also switch over the trip computer into Kilometers using the mode control switches.
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    only if you dont inform the authorities.
    speedo's break, speedo's get replaced.
     
  5. grandadbaza

    grandadbaza Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Habrough, N E Lincs
    I do not want to do anything illegal , I dont want to change the mileage, thats on a digital display anyway, I just want to change the dial face on the speedo to KPH as I struggle to read the small red numbers on the kph display without specs on ,going on extended trip in euro and it would be easier to keep eye on speed if if I changed dial
    Seen various sites where you can by Mph dials but not Kph ones

    Baza
     
  6. Squire

    Squire Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    60

    Off topic with your original post, I know, but I found that the speedo reading on my Garmin sat-nav was better to read - and more accurate - that the Fiat's speedo - and it's switchable between metric and imperial too. They're so cheap nowadays that it may even be cost effective ....
     
  7. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Lockwoods make replacement dials for many vehicles. That's where I got a Sprinter MPH dial to replace the original KPH one. I am not sure if they make the 'reverse fit'.
    However, if you replace the MPH dial (which also shows smaller kph markings) with a KPH dial, that is unlikely to show MPH. It is illegal to drive a UK registered vehicle without MPH indication. I know some people (and importers) mark the 30/50/70 mph positions with stickers, but the law requires that the mph markings are visible under all conditions: i.e. they must be illuminated at night. That is quite difficult to achieve with markings stuck on the 'glass' of the dial cluster.
     
Loading...

Share This Page