Driving a motorhome with the gas on! (1 Viewer)

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
I've received a note this morning from a worried Mr G Camber.

".....I am horrified to see how many of your subscribers do NOT turn off their gas supply when driving.

Please refer them to Section 96 of the Road Vehicles (Construction and Use ) Regulations 1986 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/1986/1078/regulation/96/made where they can see for themselves that it is totally illegal to do so."

Last edited:

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
I thought there was some special valve that some folk used to make it safe to have gas on while driving?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
The way I read that is if it has a fail safe i.e. A thermocoupler or no naked flame outside the appliance i.e. Contained within the limits of the vehicle all is good :)

Unless I'm wrong of course :D

MC 55 FUN

Free Member
Feb 18, 2016
Rural South West Wales.
Funster No
MH
2015 Majestic 195
Exp
Since 20th Feb' 2016
I thought there was some special valve that some folk used to make it safe to have gas on while driving?

An excerpt from the link in Jims post :

(5) No person shall use, or cause or permit to be used, in a vehicle to which this regulation applies which is in motion on a road any gas-fired appliance unless it is fitted with a valve which stops the supply of gas to the appliance if the appliance fails to perform its function and causes gas to be emitted

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
The way I read that it says the gas fired appliances may not be used. I see nothing there that says anything about isolating the gas supply.

Back to the clipboard Mr Camber (y). You obviously have plenty of time on your hands :whistle:

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User