Drive away Awnings

Discussion in 'Motorhome Accessories' started by kickstart, Jun 20, 2013.

1. kickstart

kickstart Funster

We are looking to buy a drive away awning in the next week,plenty on fleabay but thought I'd ask if any body has any suggestions ?

2. BgClick

BgClick Funster

Im still new to motor homing so forgive me if this is a stupid question....

I get the drive away part but how do you arrive so that the awning is snuggled against the MH?

3. Armytwowheels

Armytwowheels Funster Life Member

Very impressed with our new awning, a Kyham Motordome Excelsior. Colin can pitch it and bring it down by himself while I doing other things, namely getting the wine open!!

• Like Like x 1
  4. Armytwowheels

Armytwowheels Funster Life Member

Simples, put a couple of tent pegs in the ground close up to the front tyres at the side, when you drive or reverse back on to the pitch and you are back level with the pegs, your awning should attach again.

5. journeyman

journeyman Read Only Funster

The Kyham range is probably one of the best makes. They really can be put up by one person, in a short space of time. But they aren't cheap. Here's a vid of someone putting up a campervan version:

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TbXT2N1l9c"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TbXT2N1l9c[/ame]

6. bobandjanie

bobandjanie Funster Life Member

We have the Khyam screenhouse ( http://www.khyam.co.uk/detail.asp?p=342 ) that has surprised us at times, its been up it some really bad weather, as many have seen when we used it as our marshalls tent, great bit of kit and so quick and easy to put up. :thumb: Bob.

7. 54mud

54mud

I have a Khyam Motordome Excelsior for sale. Surplus to my requirements now I have a Fiamma Privacy room. PM me.

8. journeyman

journeyman Read Only Funster