Oct 24, 2013
Southampton
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello,

I've read a few things in magazines and on websites over the last year about draining down for winter. What I'm unsure about is whether this something that has to be done or if not, why people do it? We would like to keep using the van (occassionally) over the winter but as far as I know the water tanks are not insulated.

All I've assumed is damage can be done if you leave water in the pipes? If it has to be done, what exactly is it that needs to be drained? The simplest thing I can think of is it run the taps til the tank is empty then drain the outside valve. Some expert advice would be appreciated as the temperature has dropped quite significantly this week and I'm mindful not to damage the van I've only had for 3 weeks! :Eeek:

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
A good frost and you will end up with a split boiler and possibly taps that pop their heads off too..

Lost count of how many boilers I have had to replace for folk over the last 6 years..

Henry ( ex-Carver ) are the worst but Truma are not much better

camocam1

Free Member
Aug 28, 2012
Elgin,Moray,Scotland
Funster No
MH
bailey approach 760 se
Exp
since 2012
We use our van over the winter but still drain it down to be safe, reason for draining down is so that pipes do not freeze !!!! and burst flooding van or your pump bursts which can be expensive

your cold water tank should have a drain which you can open or a plug in the bottom of the tank that you pull out

hot water will also have it own dump valve which you open and drain down

after you have done that and all the water is out open all taps then run the pump for a couple of minutes to get rid of water in pipes

leave taps open in the middle position take shower head off and leave in the sink then blown down the shower hose

job done

all told take me about 15 - 20 mins