DOMETIC TECH TOWER FRIDGE/FREEZER

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by SteveandDenise, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. SteveandDenise

    SteveandDenise Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    621
    Location:
    Spalding LINCS
    We have a Dometic Tech Tower Fridge & Freezer model no. RMDT 8505, which appears to have stopped working.

    All LED lights are on ie. 230 v & 12v and the Gas ignites, but neither the fridge or the freezer are getting cold, on any of the power sources.

    We can not get an engineer out until 6th October and we were planning to be away for the next 2 weeks.

    Anyone got any ideas ?

    S & D
     
  2. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,259
    Likes Received:
    7,876
    Location:
    West Norfolk
    Have you tryed calling Martins Caravans in Wisbech Steve?

    They seem quite prompt and eager to please there.
     
  3. SteveandDenise

    SteveandDenise Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    621
    Location:
    Spalding LINCS
    We used them for our Auto Trail which was fitted with a Thetford unit. They were very helpful and keen to help I will call them tomorrow.

    Thanks
     
  4. Red Dragon

    Red Dragon Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Location:
    Isle Of Man
    Hi SteveandDenise
    I notice from your Avatar that you have a Rapido,its critical that the level of your van is within 3degrees front and rear and side to side(specially on gas) I had the same problem, and since making sure it was level its been fine.
    HTH.(y)
     
  5. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    A Dometic service engineer is booked for Lincoln
    Phil from Derwent Technical Services Ltd
     
  6. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Have you tried setting it to 230volts and not AES
     
  7. SteveandDenise

    SteveandDenise Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    621
    Location:
    Spalding LINCS
    Yes Steve I have it parked on my drive its level,
    also I have sent an email to Derwent earlier this evening and it is manually switched to 230v.
    I had a look on dometics site to see how absorbtion fridges work but not much info there.
     
  8. canopus

    canopus Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    3,199
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Might be the PCB control Board Steve. Have a word with BJ Leisure at Shelford, he's a mine of information.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Hydrocell

    Hydrocell Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Ebbw Vale Gwent
    Hi Steve
    The majority of motorhome and caravans all have Absorption type fridges,
    Which means that they do not have a compressor that controls and move the gasses from the bottom to the top fridge workings.
    A three-way Absorption fridge works by heating the liquids coming from the absorber vessel via a gas burner a 240volt element or a 12volt element, once the liquid gets hot enough then the process begins.


    If you have tried the three elements separately IE Gas 12 Volt & 240 Volt and you have no joy then you’re problem lies else were, check the multi plugs at the back of the fridge via the fridge vet, if they are all making a connection then the problem lies with the main pb board.
    Hope this helps
    Regards
    Ray
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. SteveandDenise

    SteveandDenise Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    621
    Location:
    Spalding LINCS
    After I set 230v 'manually' and not 'auto' after a few hours (over night) this showed a heater element fault on 230v.

    So now I have switched to gas manually about three hours ago and the temp has dropped a few degrees.
    Once I found some info on how an absorbtion fridge worked, I now realise it is a much slower prosess than a conventional fridge.

    The other thing I had not realised it is still under the 3 year Warranty

    Thank anyway for the advice
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes your supposed to switch it on a good 12 hrs before putting stuff in it
     
  12. ivorantony

    ivorantony Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    London SE
    The thermostat knob has a plastic spindle that breaks, you can turn up or down to your hearts content but it isn't moving the thermostat, it's a common problem so worth looking at,
     
  13. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    No knobs on this fridge
     
  14. SteveandDenise

    SteveandDenise Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    621
    Location:
    Spalding LINCS
    Correct only buttons and lights
     
Loading...

Share This Page