Dometic Fridge on auto not switching to gas

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by Hils and Glenns, Oct 17, 2016.

  1. Hils and Glenns

    Hils and Glenns Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    N Yorks
    Its a Dometic tec tower. The fridge works on gas if you turn the dial to gas. When its on auto it goes on 12v or 240v automatically but not the gas. Does anyone know what the problem is?
     
  2. BobtheBass

    BobtheBass Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    1,500
    Location:
    Tewkesbury
    Ours did that the other day. I read the manual and found that there was a gas reset button on the control panel which you had to press and it worked straight away.
     
  3. knokinonabit

    knokinonabit Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Location:
    Stokesley, North Yorks
    If you are on EHU it will select 240v in preference to gas.
    Ours is the same. You have to manually switch it to gas if that is what you want.
    No EHU and it selects gas.

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. Clarky

    Clarky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    1,165
    Location:
    Suffolk or France or ........
    If it has been running on 12v it won't switch to gas for some time.
    That is to stop the gas igniting while filling with fuel, which could have predictable results if filling with petrol.
    I stand to be corrected but I think there is about a 15 minute delay.

    Richard.
     
  5. Dogsense

    Dogsense Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Had it before.
    Turn the fridge off and then on (when not on EHU AND 12v off) it should start the gas to kick the fridge.
     
  6. Hils and Glenns

    Hils and Glenns Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    N Yorks
    Richard I think that might be the answer. I'm probably too impatient and don't give it long enough. I'll try waiting and see if it comes on by itself.
     
  7. knokinonabit

    knokinonabit Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Location:
    Stokesley, North Yorks

    Ours does that as well when the gas hasn't been on for a while.
    You can hear the igniter clicking but the gas hasn't reached the fridge so there is nothing to ignite.
    It only tries so many times then gives up.
    Turning the fridge off and then back on again resets the system and it usually fires up.
    I normally turn one of the hob rings on to draw gas into the pipes before I put the fridge on gas.
    It usually fires up first time then.
     
Loading...

Share This Page