LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
I hope this is ok to post here if not please move to a suitable place.

On our first outing in our new, to us, Rapido the fridge door, Dometic, kept opening every now and then, whilst driving.
The door was locked as it should be with the sliding catch.
To say it was doing my head in would be an understatement, so time for a modification i thought.
Also the sliding catches arnt really the best of designs.

I have had some new catches, made from stainless, Laser/water cut the same design as the original except it has a longer "tail" so you can dispense away with the sliding part of the catch. All you do is use the longer tail with your finger to engage the catch for traveling or when left empty for ventilation.

There was a minimum order i had to pay for so just looking to re coup what I have spent out and maybe it will help others out.

Looking for £12 inc postage for a pair of catches so you can change the fridge and freezer catches.
Prefer paypal via friends transfer so i don't pay charges or you can add the charges on, no worries.

Pics for clarity

IMG_3015.JPG IMG_3013.JPG IMG_3021.JPG

Last edited:

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
The sliding plastic cover on our 2005 vintage Dometic catch was constantly snapping so we left it off in the end.

It was possible with ours to remove the door and re-seat it on an extra thin washer on the bottom hinge - that solved some of our locking problems, but the damn thing swinging open on roundabouts and spilling its contents was a routine issue.

OP
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
The sliding plastic cover on our 2005 vintage Dometic catch was constantly snapping so we left it off in the end.