Dometic fridge and freezer playing up

Discussion in 'Carthargo' started by Dorset Diver, May 12, 2016.

  1. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    Currently in France (Concarneau).

    Carthago Chic C-Line.

    Fridge / freezer working well until last night when we arrived here. Worked at first then decided that it would not operate off the 240V. Lots of relay type clicking from the innards and eventually it switched to gas. I have now switched from Auto fuel selection to gas as we need to keep stuff cold / frozen. Never had a problem before and wondered if it could be because the site may have reversed polarity but I have no means of checking this; everything else is working fine. Site is at least 10A possibly 16A (staff don't seem to know :rolleyes:).

    I have no plans or tools for a deep maintenance job but wondered if any of you good people may have some insight.
     
  2. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    9,889
    Location:
    East Sussex
    We've got the same van and had a similar problem once before
    It could be low voltage on the site
    It does mention this as a possible cause in the handbook

    Like you we switched to gas and when we plugged in next time (at another site) all worked fine
     
  3. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,878
    Likes Received:
    2,701
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    It most definitely cannot be line / neutral reversed.
     
  4. rogher

    rogher Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Sounds like low mains voltage, DD. Is your location full of others using EHU? You could try knocking the Alde off electric. I suggest you try your fridge on mains again at another location. If it’s fine then, clearly it was something to do with the current supply (pun not intended).
     
  5. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    Hello @rogher . I did check it with the Alde off, not that it was really on as the weather is good so we don't need the heating only a bit of hot water, however, it made no difference. Now that it has been mentioned I do suspect a supply problem although the site is only about one third full. Time will tell ;).
     
  6. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    Hello @Robert Clark . Thanks for the comment, seems very likely. I guess we will find out when we next use another site.
     
  7. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    9,889
    Location:
    East Sussex
    If you have a problem with your coffee machine holder dropping down, let me know as I've got a solution for that
     
  8. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    If you look at the breaker and it's not ancient it will have c6 c10 c16 or another number, respectively 6 amp 10 amp 16amp. You get the principle?
     
  9. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    I get the principle thanks but on this site they are locked away :( .
     

    Attached Files:

  10. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,069
    Likes Received:
    7,121
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    As said above almost certainly a low voltage supply .... we had exactly the same symptoms on another French site and when I put a meter on it only had about 180v.

    Best not to use the electric as the continual auto switching can cause damage ... it may have been coincidental but our 240v fridge element failed shortly afterwards.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    Mine did self deploy on the trip to Southdown's for its first check-over and they changed the gas strut. Since then it has behaved, however, it would be good to know a fix, or does it involve some form of adhesive? :LOL:.
     
  12. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    9,889
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ours kept dropping down on our recent trip to Italy - and got worse as we went along. It's a bad design as it relies purely on a piston to support the weight of a Nespresso Pod machine.
    So I fixed it with a chrome Sash Window Catch
    View from below - which slides out when travelling
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And retracts when needed
    [​IMG]

    Mrs C gave me 5 stars for innovation !
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    Very neat. I will keep that one up my sleeve, thanks.

    Have you had any trouble with the blinds. Ours are sometimes very reluctant to clip up and on some the side guides have pooped out and they are a bugger to replace.
     
  14. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    9,889
    Location:
    East Sussex
    The slide guides have been a minor issue - whenever they pop off I fix them with super glue.
    When raising the blind I find it useful to tilt the blind towards me slightly - seems to locate better that way.
    Have you got a steel plate surrounding the TV / radio aerial on the roof?
    Ours was was painted steel and has started rusting and is being replaced with an aluminium one.
    Also our pop up TV is a bit 'wonky '. Needs new runners - all being done at first service.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  15. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    I don't have a TV aerial as we have a sat dish. I'm told there is a "bumper" TV aerial but it never seems to work well so the dish get used. I have not really looked up top so can't comment about the radio aerial.

    Pop up TV is as you say a bit wonky. It is also stiff to raise but does the job, but I will check to see if it is really okay.

    Generally most things seem to be okay but water can seep out around the red inspection cover of the lower fresh water tank when it is under pressure from the extra 60ltrs in the upper tank.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    So ask them to open the cabinet! And look! They will appreciate the education!
     
  17. Dorset Diver

    Dorset Diver Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Somerset
    Can't be arsed, to many other more interesting thing to be doing.
     
  18. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,303
    Likes Received:
    12,191
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    If your lead is long enough or you have another you could try another post, we had issues in Spain last year, controller said no power site said post was good and had been used that week, when I measured voltage it was only 80V, had 2 leads so connected further down site all then OK

    as you say though, better things to worry about, have another drink move to another site tomorrow try again, I am with the majority above, pretty sure the problem will go, don't forget to return to AES or auto setting (y)
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  19. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    Thank you!
     
  20. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,303
    Likes Received:
    12,191
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire

    I don't really know what he would gain by checking the switch rating, it isn't tripping just not working right o_O

    or am I missing something
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Dorset Diver
    Replies:
    39
    Views:
    1,305

Share This Page