Dometic B2200 needs regassing?

Discussion in 'Heating and Air-Conditioning' started by motorhome42, Jul 22, 2014.

  1. motorhome42

    motorhome42 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    North Tyneside
    I have a Dometic B2200 air conditioning unit on the top of my motorhome. Although everything seems to work, lights, fans, compressor etc. it refuses to pump out cold air anymore. Dometic seem to think that it needs regassing but are being far from helpful answering direct questions. So, anyone out there think they can help???
    Question 1. Can the unit be regassed?
    Question 2. How long does the procedure take?
    Question 3. Who (names please) can do this?

    I have seen one Dometic engineer who said (after 5 mins on the roof) that the compressor needed replacing (£800+). I spoke with Dometic who said that it was extremely unusual for a compressor to fail and they doubted the diagnosis. So I am stuck in the middle. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    If you dont regularly at least once a month run the units, the seals tend to dry out and lose the gas, excatly the same with AC in cars

    Peter
     
  3. motorhome42

    motorhome42 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    North Tyneside
    Thanks for your response. I understand this but the questions still remain.
     
  4. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    I think you just need to try another air-con company. Re-gassing will be relatively cheap and is worth trying before shelling out for a new compressor.

    Tim
     
  5. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Extremely unlikely to be the compressor, would have thought most air con garages with a regasser machine could do it subject to cables being long enough

    Your too far away from us to have a look
     
  6. Zains Pops

    Zains Pops Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    3,838
    Location:
    Chelmsford Essex
    Have you read this
    https://www.dometic.com/15b00607-47a9-4e72-b6a8-437e5f5f8e24.fodoc

    It is not unusual for electric compressors to fail in AC units, a skilled AC engineer will test compressor easily with a simple circuit test. A failed compressor usually shows up as a direct short to earth.

    You need a commercial AC / Fridge engineer to look at the system. A gas shortage can only come from a leak. It is illegal to simply re gas these systems without firstly fixing the leak.

    Good luck!!
     
  7. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,210
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    One of my sons is a refrigeration engineer and he does the units on the lorries which are pretty high up. Obviously he is a bit far away for you.
     
  8. VivaroSteve

    VivaroSteve Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Unsure if you sorted this out.
    I worked as a Fridge Man for many years, repairing many cars as well building AC units etc.
    Car AC do need running regularly to keep the shaft seal lubricated, this type of unit is hermetically sealed like a domestic fridge so no need to run regularly,but it can't hurt.
    I did change a compressor on one of these in the late 1990's, so they do fail.
    £800+ sounds a lot, but maybe an expensive compressor, but maybe just an expensive engineer.
     
  9. FULL TIMER

    FULL TIMER Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    712
    Location:
    NORWICH
    One of our customers recently had a similar problem with his I'm sure he said it turned out to be a problem on a circuit board I think he had it repaired under warranty at Simpsons
     
  10. motorhome42

    motorhome42 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    North Tyneside
    Hi Fulltimer and thanks for your reply. We are in Portugal at the moment hence the delay in contacting you. The problem remains with only the first 2-3 inches of thin bore pipe freezing when the compressor starts. You mention a circuit board - where is it and how would I know if that was causing the problem? As I've said before Dometic simply do not want to know.

    Regards

    Mark
     
  11. FULL TIMER

    FULL TIMER Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    712
    Location:
    NORWICH
    Not sure where this board is or much about the units and at the moment I can't get in contact with the fellow as he is also on his travels, I'm pretty sure he got it sorted at Simpsons near Lowestoft.
     
Loading...

Share This Page