Dometic AES fridge switching to gas on hookup

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by Vouty, Apr 20, 2015.

  1. Vouty

    Vouty

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    West midlands
    Hi Folks,

    We have recently bought an oldish Hymer van (1997) with a Dometic AES fridge.

    It seems that when we are on hookup, every now and then the Fridge will intermittently try to switch over to gas. Doesn't seem to be any rhyme nor reason to it, could be fine for a few hours and suddenly decide to do it.

    I'm planning to get someone in to take a look (and hopefully fix under insurance based warranty) but just wondered if anybody had any thoughts as to what the problem might be. Have tried both on our drive and at a campsite so don't think its a supply voltage issue.

    Cheers

    Carl
     
  2. jezport

    jezport Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    1 Check your hook up supply is working correctly.
    2 Check your hook up lead and socket on the van
    3, Check that the mains connections at the back of the fridge are not loose.

    Poor mains supply can cause this, I have had it at one meet where hook ups were split many times.
     
  3. makems

    makems Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    10,677
    Location:
    Ingleby Barwick,,Teesside
    I was going to suggest supply voltage but it looks as though you've ruled that out.
    I have had a problem with the fridge switching to gas when the voltage is out of whack in Morocco on a few sites which I have sort of resolved by using a voltage stabiliser that I bought in Morocco.
    The strange thing is the fridge was brand new, and I didn't have the same problem on the same sites the previous year in our previous van which had an older fridge!

    Strange things these fridges....
     
  4. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,641
    Likes Received:
    14,199
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    We have an AES fridge/freezer.
    Every now and then it goes through its search cycle for power and gas.
    It stays on mains though, doesn't actually switch, mains taking precedence.
    I asked an engineer about this when he fitted a new board.
    He says it's normal on the older AES fridges.
    (Our van is 2000)
     
  5. Vouty

    Vouty

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    West midlands
    Hi John,

    does this involve a 'clunk'noise that sounds like the gas isolation valve?

    Problem with this generation of AES fridge is there is no indication of which power source it is using.

    If its meant to operate like that then fair enough, however it can be a bit disconcerting when it does it in the middle of the night. I guess we could sleep with the fridge off - I like stuff with manual controls for turning off and on, at least I know where I am with them!
     
  6. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,283
    Likes Received:
    12,120
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Is it fully auto? ie can you not set it to mains electricity rather than AES?
     
  7. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,641
    Likes Received:
    14,199
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    Clunk...Yes.
    You get used to it.

    Fully auto, just switch on and it does its AES thing.

    Switch the gas supply to the fridge off, May stay on EHU.
    There is a fault if it chooses gas with an electric source available?
     
  8. Vouty

    Vouty

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    West midlands
    No I'm afraid not, in their wisdom the designers thought it best that the fridge make all the choices and the user should not worry their little head about which power supply it is working from. All well and good when things are working fine.....

    I 've been very suspicious of automatic mechanisms that aren't really required, ever since I had similar issues with the electronic parking brake on a VW Passat. Once ended up with a queue 1/2 a mile long behind me when the b**dy thing refused to release at traffic light.

    Funny thing is we are pretty light users of electricity when camping so don't expect to be on hookup that often, even less if I install a solar panel.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Vouty

    Vouty

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    West midlands
    Will try this, if I haven't already. Just need to be sure there isn't a fault - I ought to download the manual for my particular model. The Hymer manual I have doesn't really have any useful info other than switch on and enjoy.
     
  10. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346
    Likes Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Suffolk


    That's why we replaced our erratic AES fridge with a manual selection one------
    Anyone want an AES erratic fridge ??????
     
  11. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,641
    Likes Received:
    14,199
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    Dont find ours erratic.
    Quite efficient.
    On leaving a site and disconnecting EHU or gas, it fires up on 12v automatically as soon as I start the engine.
    Easy thing to forget.
    The cycle search is something or nothing.
     
  12. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,283
    Likes Received:
    12,120
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    I agree, that is what our newer AES does, but we can also turn control to one source rather than AES, that I thought might stop it playing silly buggers with itself maybe

    still needs looking at but might remove some of the clunking concerns until fixed
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. technical-phil

    technical-phil Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    Hi Carl,
    Sounds like you have a 6-series fridge, also known as an AES2
    Two buttons on the control panel, one for on/off, one to 'dial' temperature?
    Random selection of gas after running on 240v for 10, 20 mins, or intermittent switching is usually caused by one of two faults, occasionally both:
    If you take the bottom ventilation grill off, behind the fridge on the outside, you will possibly find a 'continental' two pin mains plug & socket on the left hand side.
    This is the 240v supply to the fridge. Pull the plug & check for corrosion on the pins, it is open to the elements & a bad connection can make the fridge think that 240v has failed.
    Just pulling the plug out, then plugging it in again can occasionally cure the fault.
    If there is no plug/socket then the 240v supply is probably 'hard wired' (a much better option!) & will rule this out.
    If the 240v supply is sound, then you probably have a faulty control board, as the symptoms you describe indicate.
    There will be a characteristic scorch mark on the surface of the PCB which shows this is the case.
    The original board was upgraded about a year or so after this model range was released.
    Upgrading to the newer version has always cured this fault in my experience.
    Hope this helps!
     
    • Like Like x 5
Loading...

Share This Page