Domestic fridge not working on 12V

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by Aalpha1, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. Aalpha1

    Aalpha1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fife
    Hi I was wondering if anyone can give me advice on where the fridge fuse for the 12V in the engine compartment would be fitted on a Ducato base. I thought it would be obvious? The dealer I bought it from couldn't quickly identify it and so have booked it in again so they can trace the cable back. However if I knew where I'd do it myself. To summarize, 240V fine, gas is ok if I ignite with 240v, but no interior light on gas or when trying with 12V and no power when switched to 12V?
     
  2. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    Perhaps I am stating the obvious but they all only work on 12 volt when the engine is running. Sorry if you already realised this.
     
  3. whingyraindrop

    whingyraindrop Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Planet Earth (I think)
    Sorry, I can't help but I am interested in any answers as my Dometic fridge has just ceased working on 12 v too. Perfectly fine on gas and electric hook up. Currently in France and using aires and travelling a lot. Really need the fridge to work on 12V.

    Thank you,

    Lorraine x
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Aalpha1

    Aalpha1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fife
    Hi Laneside this is my problem, which I should have made clearer, I have no power to the fridge on 12V when the engine is running. My understanding of the circuit is there will be a fuse probably in the engine compartment I wondered if anyone could give a location where to look. I was surprised that my garage (a motorhome dealer) couldn't identify it straight away.:Sad:
     
  5. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,702
    Likes Received:
    3,207
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Might be helpful if you told us what your MH is. The relevant fuse on mine (Rapido) is under the drivers seat.
     
  6. Aalpha1

    Aalpha1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fife
    Hi, its a Lunar Champ early 2006 model. On a Ducato 2.8l chassis,
    Cheers.
     
  7. june123

    june123 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Staffs
    we have a Burstner on a Ducato base

    Our fusebox is under the passenger seat
     
  8. Aalpha1

    Aalpha1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fife
    Our fusebox is under the passenger seat



    Thanks for that, I'll check when I get home. I did look in both fuse boxes located each side of the dash (which I thought would be the obvious place), so hopefully there's an additional one there.
    Thanks
     
  9. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi have a look for relay/relays and fuses near to the battery or alternator
    terry
     
  10. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,228
    Likes Received:
    34,404
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    When I was looking for a wiring diagram for our son's old camper a few weeks ago the closest I found had the fuse between the starter battery and the fridge relay (which is also connected to the alternator). It may be worth checking if there is an in line fuse somewhere near the relay.
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I could have my wires crossed :Doh: but the gas igniter PCB ONLY works on 12v.....not 230v mains.

    on 230v hookup it will switch to run on mains supply.
     
  12. Melian

    Melian Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Exeter
    Dometic Fridge

    Hi,

    Mine is under the bonnet beside the battery, i know as i have had to install a cooling unit, and when doing this i the 12v wires touched a blow the fuse.


    I have a luner Roadstar on a fiat ducato 06 reg.


    Ian
     
Loading...

Share This Page