Do you leave your satalite dish up?

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Boo, Mar 28, 2009.

  1. Boo

    Boo Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Sorry but couldn't find a thread on this:

    I have a Oyster Vision II electric folding satalite dish..........my question is.......Do you leave your dish up when not in use.......ie...when you go to bed?

    Does it use power when left up as the control panel is lit up and I would think the motor and self seak gubbins is alive...........plus couldn't the wind damage it if left up in stormy weather?

    Do I need to oil it or faff with it.........maybe clean the lnb and dish?

    Thanks in advance :Wink:

    Boo
     
  2. moandick

    moandick Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Landrake, Cornwall
    Ask Bob and Di Banks about leaving their satellite dish up - then duck rapidly! :RollEyes:

    They did so when it was a bit more than draughty (I think) - the dish blew down and ripped some big holes in their roof - requiring a new roof in places.

    It only takes a few seconds to press the retract button - and that way you will get a worry free night of sleep. :thumb:

    We also take ours down the second that the screen falters during a wind 'storm' - in the belief that the 'rocking' of the dish could damage the screw holes in the roof and therefore introduce a source of damp into the roof. :Eeek:

    We could be wrong but I am a great believer in "safe rather than sorry"

    Dick
     
  3. Boo

    Boo Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cornwall
    My thoughts too.............cheers :Wink:

    Boo

     
  4. Tony Lee

    Tony Lee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Apart from the possible damage due to storms, if you are camping away from shore power then yes, the oyster box does use some power unless you switch the actual box off. It isn't much but every bit counts.

    Also make sure you don't switch the box off with the dish up because it will stay up.
     
  5. Boo

    Boo Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Thanks for that Tony :Wink:

    I have just found out that not only does the step shoot in when you put the ignition on but the dish auto extracts...........happy days :BigGrin:

    Boo
     
  6. Tony Lee

    Tony Lee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1

    Don't count on it. It won't if you switched the oyster box off and it won't if the same idiot that installed mine did the job on yours as well. They ran that ignition wire from the brake switch under the vehicle and up to the dish control. Lousy job - no support, no conduit and wires stretched tight around some metal edges. Wore through, blew fuse - so no retract, no charge from the alternator and no brake lights.
     
  7. Boo

    Boo Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cornwall

    Nice! I hope he didn't fit mine :Eeek:

    Boo
     
Loading...

Share This Page