Do I need a DC to DC regulator?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by hdpete, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. hdpete

    hdpete Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    I have a 12v DC 25ah battery which I want to run a device from. The device's existing PSU is rated at 12v output at 12 watts.

    Do I need a DC to DC regulator to run this device for approximately 10 hours to provide a stable voltage, or will it be OK to connect it directly to the battery?

    Regards
    Peter
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,428
    Likes Received:
    25,085
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    No-one can answer that question accurately.

    Your "12v" supply will vary from a low of 12V to high of 14.6V with possible spikes of 150V+ when you press the starter.

    Generally referred to as "automotive supply".

    If there is any doubt your "device" can stand this harsh treatment then buy a regulator. I guess it also depends on the value of your "device".
     
  3. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,210
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    How about a competition to guess the 'device'. It must be something embarrassing not to name it.:Rofl1:

    Electric can opener for Fray Bentos pies perhaps.
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    there's a clue in the forum title :Wink:
     
  5. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    5,569
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    12 Volt nuts and bolts
    Seeing as its wombledon week
    You can't be serious:Doh::Rofl1:
    Geo
     
  6. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,210
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    You mean some people post things in the right forum, blow me down :Laughing:
     
  7. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    You need a voltage stabiliser - about £30-40, which will allow the devide to run and remove spikes etc. Common brand are Amperor available from places like snellyvision online.
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Forum
    TV & SATELLITE
    shooda gone to specsavers geo .. :Doh:
     
  9. BriantheSnail

    BriantheSnail Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Saddleworth
    Don't know where you get spikes from when using a battery.
     
Loading...

Share This Page