DIY Satellite Broadband

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by OldAgeTravellers, Oct 17, 2015.

  1. OldAgeTravellers

    OldAgeTravellers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Languedoc, France
    Hi All,
    I need to get reasonable internet while away and at home so I can manage our small business which is our pension, I live in rural France and at present have to beam my internet from a friends house 7 km away which luckily I have line of sight to. We just returned from our Croatia trip to find that SFR has messed about with their cables and we are only getting 0.5 mb/s rather than the 3.5 mb/s we are used to which is perfectly adequate. I am looking at the Satellite route but it would be good to use it while away, so I thought as we have a Telco Motorised dish on the van which sits just outside my office when parked up and which we never use for TV but why not use it for internet. I could then also use it at home while there. We travel in the motorhome about half the year.
    Has anybody done such a thing? the Oyster and other systems must just be standard DISEC systems so I see no reason why it shouldn't work. I can't really justify the £3 to £4K that they cost new and installed, (sorry Eddie) but surely the modem and special LNB should be available for separate purchase then a bit of fiddling to fit one to another and then presumably find a service provider.
    Any help or suggestions would be gratefully received.
    Or am I being totally daft even thinking about it?
    Steve
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,565
    Likes Received:
    11,544
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    It can be done and I've read about folk doing it on here but I can't remember the details. But the monthly subscription can be quite high.

    Can you not use mobile broadband or are you too far out in the sticks?
     
  3. OldAgeTravellers

    OldAgeTravellers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Languedoc, France
    Thanks DBK,
    The trouble with mobile is geographical, OK, at home if you can find the right package but too expensive if you cross any boarders, as far as I know we don't have any "3" type deals, but my French is not good enough to get passed the salesmen anyway, but you are still talking about €40 a month. I very rarely use a mobile phone and actually use a UK payg as it doesn't run out put £10 on it at Xmas still got £8.
    But will try looking again.
    Satellite just looks so attractive as it crosses boarders I notice @Jim is using one now he may give a report on his findings. I think he in Portugal at the moment so a good test of crossing boarders.
    I did find one discussion on here but it was about ISP's not DIY.
    Steve
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,828
    Likes Received:
    76,105
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    • Like Like x 5
  5. Lofty1

    Lofty1 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    newark
    I use 3 network only £17 for unlimited internet with 200 min and unlimited text,Can you not get someone to sort out a contract for you. we use ours in France for months at a time .
     
  6. goldenline

    goldenline Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    Port Grimaud France
    Check out SFR Red you can get data packages quite cheap but I think it is only available via Internet. We have SFR gold package which gives us 10gb of Internet per month in France and10 gb per year in Europe and also 35 days of phone calls per year outside of France and that costs 53€ per month. But we don't have land line, if you already have sfr land line I think you would get a better deal
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. OldAgeTravellers

    OldAgeTravellers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Languedoc, France
    Thanks @Jim looks very interesting, with a good range of packages, Have just installed GlassWire to try and see what our usage is at the moment. Their packages seem to have lower data limits than TwoWay etc. for the price but seem more flexible. The Coverage Map doesn't show Spain Portugal & Morocco how are you finding it touring. Does the system switch to the slower KU signal? But I notice it doesn't cover the coast of Portugal or Southern Spain or Morocco.
    Thanks @Lofty1 I was looking at "3" but they specifically say if you don't connect in the "UK" at least once a month they will charge standard tarrif so not suitable if not resident in the UK.
    Thanks @goldenline I will investigate that but monthly cost looks similar without good cross boarder coverage.
    Steve
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,828
    Likes Received:
    76,105
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    I've not found anywhere on the Algarve yet where we are not getting the full internet service. Speeds are good too.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  9. OldAgeTravellers

    OldAgeTravellers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Languedoc, France
    Thanks @Jim looks very interesting, with a good range of packages, Have just installed GlassWire to try and see what our usage is at the moment. Their packages seem to have lower data limits than TwoWay etc. for the price but seem more flexible. The Coverage Map doesn't show Spain Portugal & Morocco how are you finding it touring. Does the system switch to the slower KU signal? But I notice it doesn't cover the coast of Portugal or Southern Spain or Morocco.
    Thanks @Lofty1 I was looking at "3" but they specifically say if you don't connect in the "UK" at least once a month they will charge standard tarif so not suitable if not resident in the UK.
    Thanks @goldenline I will investigate that but monthly cost looks similar without good cross boarder coverage.
    Steve
     
  10. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,828
    Likes Received:
    76,105
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    We had Vanbitz fit the Oyster Internet System a couple of weeks ago, so far it's been faultless and always on internet is very liberating. I'll be doing a write up on the fitting and the use of the system in the next few days. (y)
     
    • Like Like x 10
  11. Lofty1

    Lofty1 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    newark
    Strange we were in France for 3 months this year in one go without problems
     
  12. OldAgeTravellers

    OldAgeTravellers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Languedoc, France
    Yes @Lofty1 but you probably activated and used it in the UK then went abroad then back to the UK etc. so they may be flexible with their conditions in those circumstances.
    Quoting from Andy's website (Here) which is easier than trawling through the "3" T&C's: "There is also a maximum permissible usage of any one SIM for 60 days in any 365 and for new contracts 30 days must have elapsed before you can use abroad. PAYG customers can simply get around this by buying a second SIM card."
    Getting friends to buy activate and post sim's would be a bit restricting I think.
    Which is why I have finally got down to Satellite Internet as probably the best over all solution. And looking at some of the prices probably not particularly any more expensive monthly compared to our present system. As we could ditch our land line completely so save the cost of France Telecom and have VOIP calls which is much cheaper monthly and which would also be available when touring for calling out to family etc.
    The biggest problem is the £3k up front cost of Satellite hence my question as to whether anybody has successfully converted an existing Auto Dish. Our van came with one which we never use for TV but do not want to risk the possible damage to the roof if we take it off. But if I can convert it then possibly for a couple of hundred we may be able to solve our at home and away problems, I HOPE!

    Steve
     
  13. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,565
    Likes Received:
    11,544
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I believe the basic equipment you need is a satellite router and an LNB designed for sending and receiving.

    I found this through Googling. Same provider Jim uses. http://www.broadbandeverywhere.co.uk/page/installing

    I assume you can set the dish up manually to point at the satellite, using a signal strength meter? Otherwise automatic systems are going to shove the price up.

    Edit. Just found this, uses mandraulic alignment. £900 they say but if you already have a dish it should be cheaper. http://www.ez-net.co.uk
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Landyguy

    Landyguy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    macclesfield
    Does anybody have this system for use at home or travelling abroad - sounds interesting but love to see some reviews.
     
  15. mustaphapint

    mustaphapint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1,043
    Location:
    Worcestershire and Brittany
    We use a fixed satellite broadband for our home in France. The dish is enormous and we were told when we signed up for it that the broadband service needs a better quality dish than normal satellite TV. The broadband works OK but at £25 per month for 4GB is not cheap, although I know there are better deals out there now. We also have a portable satellite system for TV which we've used while camping and works very well once the manual set up is achieved. I keep thinking of trying the broadband LNB on the portable dish to see if it does work. That would be really useful for the MH if it's successful. We've only used our set up in the South of England and France though. I'm told it should work down as far as mid-Spain, but no further.
     
  16. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
  17. OldAgeTravellers

    OldAgeTravellers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Languedoc, France
    Hi DBK,
    Thanks for the links, the second one is very interesting but their kit initially seems expensive.
    I can point the dish automatically to any satellite with the existing box just need the Criterior (frequency, polarity etc.) for the satelite I am looking for. But that depends on Teleco who made my Automatic Sat Dish, being cooporative, or one of their agents who of course may be a Funster might help.
    It's all a bit of a learning curve which is why it would be good to find somebody who has done it. And where they bought their kit (iLNB, Sat Modem for the Ku band etc.) I have at least established that the Ku band is what I need to get most of Europe coverage. It has a maximum speed of 10mbps but that is three times as fast as the best I ever get with my existing system. it's struggling to get to 1mbps at the moment.
    I have p.m'd
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. OldAgeTravellers

    OldAgeTravellers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Languedoc, France
  19. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,715
    Likes Received:
    38,573
    Location:
    Dorset
    What are your monthly fee`s Jim ???

    Mine is £24-99 a month unlimited, anywhere in Europe... waste of money at the moment... But if I cancel it is a pain to get back on-line.. (So I have been told).. :mad:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,565
    Likes Received:
    11,544
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I found the satelliteinternet.co.uk site when I was looking the other day but there is a lot missing on their website when it came to the hardware so I didn't mention them, but it looks like they are the folk @seanoo uses and their prices and equipment look very reasonable compared to others.
     
Loading...

Share This Page