Disposable car stereo

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by octopush, Apr 10, 2014.

  1. octopush

    octopush Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    portsmouth

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
    • Like Like x 2
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,426
    Likes Received:
    25,080
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    What on earth does that mean.
     
  3. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,280
    Likes Received:
    12,109
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire

    It does read like something my daughters would use when justifying why they need me to 'lend' them money to buy something I don't think they need
     
  4. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Thought same myself , but wasnt going to comment as the times I have been shot down over me mentioning money are numerous now, but it never ceases to amaze me how much money some people seem to have on here, it's their money to throw away I know, as I have been told many times. But when people can dispose of £189 without batting an eyelid, it's just beyond me.
    More than I made in a year , one time , when farming:Eeek:
     
  5. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    But then again , not knocking the actual purchase , just the wording, looks a fantastic piece of kit , does it do all it says on the tin.:thumb:
     
  6. burtonbird

    burtonbird Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Staffs
    Don't understand the 'disposable' bit of this. How long are you expecting it to last for £189????
     
  7. Daifuse

    Daifuse

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    310
    Location:
    Milford Haven
    Perhaps it should read 'indispensable' ? :Wink:
     
  8. jockaneezer

    jockaneezer Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    3,067
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Looks interesting, what system does the sat nav run on ?
     
  9. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,426
    Likes Received:
    25,080
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    The blurb says WinCE. There are a lot of cheap Chinese SatNavs on ebay running this. Chrisboyo is delighted with his which works well.
     
  10. octopush

    octopush Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    portsmouth
    I new there would be a lot of comments on what i put.

    But if you want to pay over £1000 to get the same thing but with pioneer on it,
    I am sure the components inside do not say made in Briton on them.

    What i meant by disposable is if stolen from my mobile home that i would not have lost a fortune and could replace it.

    Another thing we all have worked for next to nothing not just farmers.

    It comes with the latest Igo navigation
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
  11. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Well I for one am considering it -I need a new stereo for the van and have had a quick search recently looking for one that would play from a memory stick rather than a cd- my sat nav is 4 yrs out of date so it could well kill 2 birds with one stone -cheers for the link :thumb:
    terry
    edit just thought on I have a Pioneer unit out of my sons car that the screen stopped working on and about 4 yrs ago they wanted more than the cost of this unit simply to take it apart with no g/tee they could fix it -needless to say it's still in the garage-forgot about it
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  12. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Does it really get internet and TV without special bits, Aerials and stuff
     
  13. octopush

    octopush Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    portsmouth
    No you will need a box for tv and a dongle for internet plus a camera that's if you want to use these fetchers.

    You do get a remote control, gps antenna and maps.

    I am trying to find out if i can tether my iPhone to it for the internet.

    If anyone knows how this is done please could you let me know
     
  14. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,326
    Likes Received:
    21,633
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Keep a very watchful eye on the cab battery..
    Darrell ( number one son ) replaced his cab battery as he thought it was duff.. He works all hours so only gets to come out and play in his mh maybe once a month if he is lucky.

    went to use the mh and the battery was flat.. Took a charge ok but the same happened the next time.
    Bought a new battery.. same again !!

    I had run tests for current draw but could not find anything significant..

    In the end we traced it to the same unit as you have just bought. Took the bloody thing out before I went to Spain.. 9 weeks later and it started on the button.. no problem

    To make matters harder to work out, he has got solar panels and has got a B to B block fitted but even that could not stop the battery collapsing !

    Sure, it may have been a faulty unit... And I hope yours will be fine, but I would keep a weather eye on things :))
     
  15. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I had an aldi Bluetooth radio in the old van that you could answer your phone through, but if someone rang me , for some reason you couldn't end the call and the callers phone wouldn't work as it was still connected , wierd , I had to disconnect the power cable to it to stop it, but in the end just disabled it and didn't use the phone thing on it anymore.
    Thinking about it ,it could have been if I rang them either road it was a pain.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
Loading...

Share This Page