Dish or Dome ??

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by RS SPIKE, Jan 3, 2016.

  1. RS SPIKE

    RS SPIKE Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    derbyshire
    I have a Avtex STH3000 Portable aerial which is ok if there is good coverage in the area where you are parked.
    We have been away this xmas and struggled a bit to be honest,so we are thinking of going down the satellite route.
    So not sure which route to go dish or dome ??
    Can't be doing with the fuss of a portable dish so it will have to be fixed and pref auto tuning.
    Look forward to your comments phill
     
  2. Smith and Sharp

    Smith and Sharp Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    1,999
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Yes, me too..:)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,507
    Location:
    kent
    We have a dome supplied by @eddievanbitz. Can't remember what it is called but it's very good(y)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,953
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    If money isnt an issue then go for a dome.

    Lower profile than a dish, more streamlined than a dish and unaffected by winds....but if it snows you need to get on the roof to clear it....a dish can be lowered to clear it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. kelv

    kelv Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    leicester
    I have a 85cm dish oyster great bit of kit get most of the uk channels down to the Spanish border never had any issues.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. RS SPIKE

    RS SPIKE Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    derbyshire
    Have you a link please ?
     
  7. RS SPIKE

    RS SPIKE Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    derbyshire
    Just a thought how much power does it take to run a dome or dish ??
     
  8. Theonlysue

    Theonlysue Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Essex
    Having hardly watched any TV for the past 3 weeks cos of wind, I have a dish, I would say go for a dome.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,953
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Couple of amps.

    A manual dish is powered by the sat receiver
    A dome or auto dish is usually powered by its own control box
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. HymerB544

    HymerB544 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    707
    Location:
    Near Truro, Cornwall
    They both have pros and cons. We have an 85cm automatic Oyster linked to a Humax box and an Avtex TV, and it works very well, right down through France. But if the wind gets up, the dish is like a sail and you will lose the signal. Also, you can't get a signal in southern Spain unless you hav one of those monster dishes regular UK caravanners carry across the rear of their vans.
    So a dome will not be affected by the wind but..........

    How high is your van? Ours is under 3m even with the dish and aircon unit on the roof (dish retracted of course). A dome would be higher than that and may cost you when booking a ferry if height is an issue.
    Are we happy with the auto dish? Definitely. Would I stick with a dish on my next van? Who knows? Technology marches on, but as things stand, yes. Gary
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. daveandsan

    daveandsan Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Location:
    South Staffs
    I would say very little power, mine is the dome type and once my dish has locked on to the sat I turn that box of tricks off.
    I use an Avtex tele with built in sat receiver.
     
  12. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    If you want to get the very last dregs of UK transmissions as you near the Spanish border then get the biggest dish you can fit (85 or 100 cm). If that is not a critical issue and you want decent coverage in all of the UK and most of France, then a dome will be very easy to live with. The issue of a dome being unaffected by wind can be a clincher - particularly if you go to places like the west coast of Scotland!
    We have had a Camos 40 dome for about 5 years and find it a great bit of kit - made in South Korea by WiWorld. They were imported by Roadpro who now have them under their own brand (later version of the same item).
    https://www.roadpro.co.uk/retail/product_list.aspx?prod=RoadPro+Sat-Dome+Systems

    Eddie Vanbitz supplies the American Tracvision which is also a very good bit of kit.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I also considered both , I weighed up the pros and cons of a Dome and Dish... decided on a a dish, and bought an Alden AS4 Auto Dish from Vanbitz ..

    cracking bit of kit, easy to install, everything you need is in the kit.. including the Sikaflex and gloves..

    It comes with a LIFETIME WARRANTY on satellite system.

    Used it this summer s far as the south of France with all UK channels..

    From pressing the 'On' button to finding the signal and locking on takes less than 45 secs..

    Highly recommend it.. @eddievanbitz will give a Funster discount


    You can buy cheaper Domes and Dishes.. but you get what you pay for.. am delighted with it..

    http://www.vanbitz.com/mobile-installation/alden/
     
    • Like Like x 4
  14. Clarky

    Clarky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    1,174
    Location:
    Suffolk or France or ........
    We had a Camos 40cm dome on our previous vans (also fitted by RoadPro) and it worked very well, unless under trees.
    On our new van we have an 85cm Teleco dish which does seem to find the signal better when there are trees around. It always finds and locks on to the satellite quickly. However, I am a bit wary of using it in windy conditions.
    It is interesting to note that you very rarely see a dome on European vans, they all seem to have dishes.

    Richard.
     
  15. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    We had a dome on our last van. A low hanging twig (definitely couldn't have been classed as a branch) caught the dome and smashed it. They are quite delicate. We now have a Maxview dish and it's great but we always take it down when it gets too windy.
     
  16. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    2,363
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    @RS SPIKE
    I have a Snipe system. I did have a portable dish, but like you, I couldn't be arsed with trying to tune it in.

    Domes? They increase the height of the van, cause slight drag etc.

    The Snipe is ideal for me. Has an internal GPS, locks on to the signal, sorts out the 'skew' and Bingo! A steady picture in a jiffy.

    Works well down into France too.

    I haven't bothered to bolt mine to the van roof (don't like holes) That way, I can place the unit where I wish (including the roof) or on a small camping table.

    Cost me a tad under £600

    Hope this helps?
    James
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Hyacinth 1

    Hyacinth 1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    765
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    We have an oyster dish and used it in the Gail's we had in November and December with no problems at all

    Liz
     
  18. Hyacinth 1

    Hyacinth 1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    765
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    We have an oyster dish and used it in the gails we had in November and December last year with no problems at all

    Liz

    Edit: sorry about the double post iPad playing up
     
  19. stephen harwood

    stephen harwood Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    372
    Location:
    bridgwater
    Yes i have oyster dish good bit of kit
     
  20. Old Soldier

    Old Soldier Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Location:
    Wells in Somerset
    Never ceases to amuse me when I watch these nice posh vans with domes or dishes mounted on the roofs juggling back and forth trying to get a decent satelite signal. Happened again over Christmas when my mate moved his van four times so that SHMBO could catch up on one of the soaps. Apparently, his set up does not come with standard terestrial free view equipment! Can't believe that!! If I can't get terrestrial I get out my £49.99 lidl's satellite dish and tuner and with out moving the van I can normally get a signal all be it that I have to aim in the right direction. Be like me, keep it simple!! Works fine in UK and a good part of Northern Europe.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page