Diesel Particulate Filter

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Viennese, Apr 1, 2014.

1. Viennese

Viennese Funster

• Like Like x 2
  2. Wildbill

Wildbill Funster

not sur but is that not the same as ad blue the stuff the trucks use only you get two gallons for £18 and 16 for a small can for a car
    I may be wrong
    edit I am wrong totally:Doh:

Last edited: Apr 1, 2014
  3. wasp

wasp Funster

Is it right you have to have them on your diesel vehicle for the MoT if it is over 5 years old:Sad:

4. John Laidler

John Laidler Funster

I am naturally suspicious of these sort of claims from manufacturers and would need some independent tests first.
    AdBlue which Bill mentions is designed to reduce nitrous oxides not particulates.

Giving the throttle some "welly" from time to time seems the best thing you can do although there are companies who services to clean DPFs but I have no experience of them.

5. Steve

Steve Funster Life Member

dpf filter.jpg

Interesting subject, look at the screen shot attached and an advert to have it removed.

6. paulmold

paulmold Read Only Funster

Not true - new MOT rules are that if vehicle was fitted with a DPF originally then it must have one at MOT. Same rule applies to CATS

• Like Like x 1
  7. Techno

Techno Funster Life Member

Do I have one ?

8. sdc77

sdc77 Funster

Having had experience of a vw crafter I have heard lots of horror stories of the DPF. There are plenty of stories of these vans having DPF problems.. And one thing stands out above everything else... The vans were used for short journeys... This prevents the DPF from regenerating... (this process involves diesel being injected into the DPF and burning off the diesel particles.)
    I can't imagine the DPF on a motorhome would have too many probs as most journeys wouldn't be short.

9. SteveandDenise

SteveandDenise Funster

DPF

At 5,000 miles our DPF light came on we had just left the motorway around 70 mph for an hour or so.