Free Member
Jan 21, 2012
cornwall
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
i'm a newbie
Whilst out giving the van a run, for its own good, stopped for fuel, and my friend put 40 pounds worth of diesel into the water tank. Unfortunately, i was also running the heating before I realised the mistake (trumatic c).I think I had less than a 1/4 of a tank of water, also unfortunately. Had the sense to not use taps or flush at least. A bit depressed really.:Sad:

Jul 29, 2011
Urmston, Manchester
Funster No
MH
Former owner.
Exp
June 2012
That's going to take some flushing out, look on the bright side at least you tank wont freeze.:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

Get the drain plug out of the water tank, not sure what additive to use to clean it, sure somebody will come up with an answer.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
i doubt anything will totally clean the tank so its fit to drink from again.

CAK tanks will sell you a new tank and fittings or claim it on the insurance

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
my suggestion.

drain all the water/diesel into containers (you'll need to dispose of it properly)

get some none foaming detergent, dish washer powder should do.

put the powder and a few gallons of boiling/very hot water in the tank and go for a drive.

the detergent should 'disolve' the diesel.
drain again and repeat.

DONT run the pump with gritty detergent in the water.

drain and part fill with water a few times and see what happens.

cant think of any other solutions.

Gunner29

Free Member
May 24, 2012
Plymouth
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
diesel

I put £80 of PETROL into my DIESEl tank!! £130 to pump it out so total cost = £210
Not sure how much anew tank will cost you but IF you can clean it out OK Good luck but I'd be wary of drinking from it

Organplayer

Free Member
Dec 11, 2011
Berkshire
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp