Desktop finally working.

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Road Runner, May 22, 2009.

  1. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Now my only aerial point is downstairs so i have my modem there and the desktop is upstairs and I am using a medium priced wifi dongle and the reception is fair. Doe's this slow the computer up?

    Cant see how and m,ore likely to drop connection, am I right?
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,884
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    dont you mean phone point john:Doh:

    mine is definately slower on wifi than direct into the BT wall socket but i no longer have a problem with dropped connections. (i updated the wifi card driver)
     
  3. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Yes phone point:Doh::Blush::Blush::Blush::Blush:
     
  4. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Hi John can't you use a telephone extension cable, put your router upstairs and connect direct? or is it required downstairs too?

    You could try homeplug , get your internet through any 240v socket in the house:BigGrin:

    regards
     
  5. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Hi John,

    Yes.As the signal strength drops the transmission/receive rate falls.

    Data over power might be the best way to go as Sinbad says.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page