Data Usage

Discussion in 'Computers' started by matamoros, May 13, 2016.

  1. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    I am using a 3 PAYG sim currently in France my usage for today shows download 330 Mb and upload of 2.13 Gb.

    Total useage on this sim is download 1.07 Gb and upload 7.85 Gb in 10 days, my 12 Gb won't last long at this rate.

    Anyone know where this data is going and how do I stop it? I have AVG anti virus free version and I have attempted to stop all automatic updates.

    I have deleted all cloud systems that came pre installed with Windows 8.1 on this HP laptop bought last summer.

    There appear to be 2 apps, onedrive and one note that I am unable to delete......how is it possible to delete apps as they do not seem to appear in control panel's list of programmes?
     
  2. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,283
    Likes Received:
    12,120
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    I used 8Gb in 24 hours by having my home security cameras effectively live in the background without realising

    Apparently the equivalent of streaming 4 films simultaneously and constantly o_O
     
  3. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3,944
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    Android:
    In settings you can restrict background data use for your apps.
    You can also choose to cancel auto- update for your apps.
    You can also set apps to only go online when on WiFi.
     
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,125
    Location:
    Kettering
    Onedrive is Microsoft's version of Googledrive or iCloud - it's online storage and access. It is more than likely configured by default to automatically sync everything you do. You won't be able to delete it because it's part of Windows but there will be a settings panel for it somewhere where you should be able to turn off the auto syncing. I don't use Windows so can't tell you how to do it.

    There used to be a thing in Windows where you could monitor network activity and see exactly what programs your network traffic is coming from. Don't know if that's still there.


    Don't forget that if you're using a MiFi all your devices will be fooled into thinking they're connected to WiFi so any thing that's configured to only work on WiFi - video, auto updates etc - will try and work.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Thank's for that, I have since discovered that one drive cannot be deleted but have yet to discover any settings panel for it but when I do open the app there is a button to sync so i assume that it does not do it automatically, next step is to click on the sync button and see if that gives any options.

    When I first bought the laptop HP had thoughtfully installed a cloud storage system called Evernote whose default setting was to sync, that used up all the data on one sim before I discovered it, now in the bin!!

    The problem seems to be that these days it seems the norm for everyone to assume that all users are on unlimited and fast connections, the amount of unwanted crap that comes down on most sites, even with adblocker. is amazing.
     
  6. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    I use CCleaner which has a tool in which you can disable startup of tasks in Windows which you do not need. I also have Windows system automatic updates disabled as well as all other programs which have the automatic update facility.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,338
    Likes Received:
    9,740
    Location:
    Glasgow
    If you are using apps like Facebook that takes a lot of data up.
     
  8. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Don't use facebook or many apps at all, the biggest user of data is probably google maps and google earth but it is not the data useage that I am particularly worried about but all the masses of data that are being up loaded.
     
  9. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Is that a free tool? I may try that.

    Edit, just googled that, which version do you have?

    I also have windows automatic updates disabled and only update selected ones when on free wifi:)
     
  10. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    2,158
    Location:
    Lincs
    Are you taking loads of photos? Your camera may be set to upload to a cloud storage system automatically.
     
  11. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
  12. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Not too many photo's and I always download from the card via windows and not the camera software.

    I have uninstalled all cloud systems from the PC except one drive which cannot be uninstalled but I do not think that this uploads automatically.
     
  13. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    In case you didn't see my edit which version do you have?
     
  14. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,576
    Likes Received:
    11,555
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    I use the Free version which is quite adequate for most users.

    Your upload data useage looks crazy unless, as someone else mentioned, you are uploading photos or video to the web.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    448
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    I agree and the only thing that I can think of is that one of the cloud systems that I have now uninstalled was uploading files.

    I do have quite a lot of photo's and music plus downloaded filmon TV programmes(when I was on an unlimited plan) but even if they sync automatically it would surely only upload any new files.
     
  18. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
  19. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
  20. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Thanks for all your input, I think I have solved the problem which is/was onedrive doing it's own thing.

    I have gone into properties of onedrive and opened advanced attributes and disabled archiving and also paused sync'ing via the button in the task bar. I don't know which of these has been effective but at the moment no uploading is taking place.

    The link that @DBK posted re disabling onedrive would not work as, I think, the method described only works if onedrive is part of microsoft office, which i do not have.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ShiftZZ
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    231
  2. Hils and Glenns
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    277

Share This Page