Feb 16, 2017
Bromley, Kent
Funster No
MH
Nothing yet...
Exp
Total newbie
Hi all,

We picked up our new (to us) Swift Kon-tiki on Sunday. We love it, and although it is in very good nick, there are some issues. I have already fixed indicators and treated a tad of rust on the wiper arms. Inside is remarkably well-preserved, but I am concerned- next to the rear window, there's an area that feels a bit 'crunchy'. Not a big area, maybe 3-4 square inches. This is the inside, the outside is all totally solid. I know the seller said it had some damp repairs, and I'm wondering if this is left over? Should I be worried, get it checked out? The van seems to be extremely dry inside.

Cheers!

Alex.

Oct 7, 2013
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Swift Escape Compact
Exp
Since 1988
Hi all,

We picked up our new (to us) Swift Kon-tiki on Sunday. We love it, and although it is in very good nick, there are some issues. I have already fixed indicators and treated a tad of rust on the wiper arms. Inside is remarkably well-preserved, but I am concerned- next to the rear window, there's an area that feels a bit 'crunchy'. Not a big area, maybe 3-4 square inches. This is the inside, the outside is all totally solid. I know the seller said it had some damp repairs, and I'm wondering if this is left over? Should I be worried, get it checked out? The van seems to be extremely dry inside.

Cheers!

Alex.
Definitely get it checked out.

If it is damp get it repaired as soon as possible. It is easier, and cheaper, to repair before the area gets too big.

Feb 16, 2013
uttoxeter
Funster No
MH
ambulance conversion
Exp
50 years
Hi all,

Cheers!

Alex.
Crunchy sounds better than spongy, maybe that was the damp and now it's dry(y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
apm101

apm101

Free Member
Feb 16, 2017
Bromley, Kent
Funster No
MH
Nothing yet...
Exp
Total newbie