DAB Module ? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Not really a motorhome question but one some one on here may be able to help with .

The radio reception on our 2013 Peugeot Boxer based PVC is not great. This van it seems has a reputation for this problem. Im asking here cos I would bet its been encountered by one of you and advice may be forthcoming..

Talking to a chap today who was rabbiting on about a DAB radio module. He said it gets plugged into a 12V supply and the radio in the van connects to this via I think bluetooth ? Not sure really..

Example. We have a 2013 Toyota Rav4. I can play the music from my Iphone with no wires connecting. It does it by the magic (to me) of bluetooth. But to listen to the same music when in the van a wire has to be plugged in. I think (not sure) its a USB ? Whatever it is it lives in the glovebox of the van. A wee socket thing.

If it is possible to connect a DAB to the standard HIFI via either bluetooth or the USB in the glovebox can anyone recommend one ?

I have checked all the aerial connections and I realise the whole head unit could be changed but I would much rather use what is already there and improve upon it if possible.

Thanks !

Apr 10, 2010
Bedfordshire
Funster No
MH
Carthago
Exp
Since Sept 2003
I have a Pure Highway in the car, which receives DAB and transmits to the car radio either on FM or by the headphone socket to the car's aux input. The wired connection is better because there is no conflict with FM stations as you travel.

I don't think they make mine any more but there are other adapters here: Broken Link Removed

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
Not really a direct answer to your question but I think it's relevant.

We had the same FM issue and decided to swap out the radio head unit for a DAB one and add a windscreen mounted DAB antenna.