Crossing the channel: Does size matter? (1 Viewer)

clf86ha

Free Member
Oct 4, 2012
Hartlepool, Norh East
Funster No
MH
Autcruise Starspirit
Exp
since April 2014
Whilst still waiting to sell our caravan and join the world of Motorhoming, I have been looking at many motorhomes and adverts for motorhomes and came across an advert for an under 6m motorhome, who mentioned that at under 6m in size, it's a positive, as it would mean a lesser charge crossing the channel. having never been abroad with our caravan, I'm a total newbie to this, so can someone explain (in laymans terms) how size makes a difference ie: is it just the length, or does width and height play a factor too? or is the difference negligible?

OP
OP
clf86ha

clf86ha

Free Member
Oct 4, 2012
Hartlepool, Norh East
Funster No
MH
Autcruise Starspirit
Exp
since April 2014
does it go up in size brackets? is there much price difference in the brackets?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

May 7, 2011
Cornwall Gorran Haven
Funster No
MH
T Line 785
Exp
motorhoming since 1979
Depends on which ferry and to where but I think dfds dover to dunkirk have two sizes up to 7mtr and up to 10 mtr. I just booked a week ago £ 52 return 15 days away 6mtr m/h for september next year. Compared to £85 on the isle of wight ferry the same time. Terry:rain:

mike/jen

Free Member
Nov 29, 2009
Powys
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
7 years
Dfds, One way 11mtres total motorhome and trailer with car on. :thumb:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
as it would mean a lesser charge crossing the channel.

Quite insignificant compared to the other other costs of touring Europe.

Having said that, ours is under 6m but chosen for what we wanted rather than the cost of ferries.

Fuel consumption is far more significant, build that into you buying equation.

mike/jen

Free Member
Nov 29, 2009
Powys
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
7 years