Crashed! Advice please re options re insurance (1 Viewer)

tullie

Free Member
Aug 22, 2012
Carlisle
Funster No
MH
Hymer Camp 55
Exp
I'm a newbie
[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]I crashed into a herd of horses roaming around the motorway in the dead of night.[/FONT]

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]There were other cars behind me who did the same. I am with the AA for European breakdown and recovery who I managed to convince to take me and the motorhome to the ferry port at Santander so at least I could get home if the ferry let me board.[/FONT]

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]Little did I know that this happens a lot and Brittany Ferries are used to it. A recovery truck takes you onto the ferry last of all and when we arrive in Plymouth a recovery company will take me off.[/FONT]

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]Yes I am still in the middle of my little adventure ..the ferry was delayed because of bad weather and we will arrive in Plymouth at 1.00pm[/FONT]

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]So my Hymer Camp55 with a Fiat Ducato 2.5 engine has suffered some damage. Only the door and a grill on the camper is affected. The main hit was in the passenger side which is completely stoved in. Can't get the bonnet open to see any damage in the engine, cant't open the passenger side door. Well maybe you can but then it possible wouldn't shut.[/FONT]

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]So my problem now is what to do. The camper is full of stuff mine, my passengers large cases, and some tools belonging to a neighbour.[/FONT]

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]The insurance company Alliance will be in touch soon. They want to take it to a garage/repairer which they use in the area and decide whether its worth repairing. Then they will have to take it to Carlisle where I live. This is what want to happen in the first instance as I want all my stuff with me and the camper. ( I already have another holiday in it booked for August).[/FONT]