Cost of fitting a second leisure battery (1 Viewer)

themountaintiger

Free Member
Sep 27, 2009
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon-Tiki 649C Class
Exp
Since 24th March 2010
Went to a local caravan/motorhome dealers today and asked cost of fitting second leisure battery, they said it would cost approx £45 + cost of battery, seems ok to me, what do others think? Please note im a newbie and the thought of fitting it myself makes me cringe with fear (and tears :cry:) in case I cock up!! pardon the expression

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
I woulnd't have said that was a bad price - we had a leisure battery fitted last year and it cost us £30 plus the battery but that was when it was already going in for a service.

Quite apart from the labour cost (and it can take a bit of time depending on where the battery is going to be located) they have to supply the cables too and possibly a battery box, so £45 isn't bad.

Upvote 0
Jul 28, 2008
Wiltshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Ducato Sportivo
Exp
Since 2005! 2000+ nights so far...
Sound fair if they do it properly.
I had to take seats out, run extra cable, sliced hand on shard of metal (still have scar), cleared up blood etc.
Cable + fuses + connectos cost etc

Personally I enjoy the DIY :)

Remember (as mentioned everywhere) - additional batteries *should* be matched in terms of capacity and ideally age/make/model (E.G.replace all at same time). It'll work if you don't but the capacity will reduce and the longjevity of the batteires will be reduced. How long is anyones guess....

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
themountaintiger

themountaintiger

Free Member
Sep 27, 2009
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon-Tiki 649C Class
Exp
Since 24th March 2010
Sound fair if they do it properly.